ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by sabrown. 10/17/18 05:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
SCADA interview questions and answers 2019
by niamishra. 10/17/18 03:26 AM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
VFD Questions #174583
02/08/08 03:18 PM
02/08/08 03:18 PM
O
oldsparky  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
New England
I am having some VFD issues, looking for advice. Can the line and load conductors from a VFD be in the same raceway and can the loads from multiple VFD's be in the same raceway. I have reviewed multiple VFD manufacturers installation manuals with no good direction.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: VFD Questions [Re: oldsparky] #174602
02/08/08 09:49 PM
02/08/08 09:49 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
oldsparky,

I have installed several VFDs with the line & load conductors in the same raceway, and they worked fine for years.

I did however have a problem with voltages induced in a VFD with a 5 volt control circuit that shared a raceway with the load conductors. The VFD load conductors were inducing about 8 volts in the control wires and if I let go of the stop button during the ramp-to-stop period, the motor started up again.

For various reasons, we couldn't run a separate contol conduit, so we actually bought a new drive with a 10 volt control circuit and the problem went away.

That all being said, I would call your suppliers VFD man. He should be able to advise you.

BTW,

Are they Allen Bradley?

Last edited by Redsy; 02/08/08 09:56 PM.
Re: VFD Questions [Re: Redsy] #174649
02/10/08 02:14 PM
02/10/08 02:14 PM
J
JValdes  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
Seperate line and load conductors. Seperate signaling (control) circuits. Yes, individul conduits. Install a line reactor for each control (VFD). If motor is more than 100' away from drive install a load reactor. Inductive currents from the drive output will dirty up the input conductors causing nuisance tripping of the drive. The only place where the conductors should meet is in the control panel. Keeping control, line and load away from each other. You can use one breaker and a terminal block for several drives. But you should use seperate line reactors.

Note: Some VFD's have the reactor built in.
Try www.baldor.com and look under brochures or manuals. You can get anything you want there in PDF format.
Check www.transcoil.com. Or search Trans Coil Inc. for line and load reators and further information.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,370 Are you busy
187,982 Re: Forum
177,527 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9523 MB (Peak: 1.0756 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-18 05:08:47 UTC