ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by HotLine1. 06/13/18 01:50 PM
GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:32 PM
Ketra Recalls Recessed Downlights
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:17 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 06/11/18 07:31 AM
soda can fuse from UK, facebook
by wa2ise. 06/06/18 11:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 28 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
VFD Questions #174583
02/08/08 03:18 PM
02/08/08 03:18 PM
O
oldsparky  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
New England
I am having some VFD issues, looking for advice. Can the line and load conductors from a VFD be in the same raceway and can the loads from multiple VFD's be in the same raceway. I have reviewed multiple VFD manufacturers installation manuals with no good direction.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: VFD Questions [Re: oldsparky] #174602
02/08/08 09:49 PM
02/08/08 09:49 PM
R
Redsy  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
oldsparky,

I have installed several VFDs with the line & load conductors in the same raceway, and they worked fine for years.

I did however have a problem with voltages induced in a VFD with a 5 volt control circuit that shared a raceway with the load conductors. The VFD load conductors were inducing about 8 volts in the control wires and if I let go of the stop button during the ramp-to-stop period, the motor started up again.

For various reasons, we couldn't run a separate contol conduit, so we actually bought a new drive with a 10 volt control circuit and the problem went away.

That all being said, I would call your suppliers VFD man. He should be able to advise you.

BTW,

Are they Allen Bradley?

Last edited by Redsy; 02/08/08 09:56 PM.
Re: VFD Questions [Re: Redsy] #174649
02/10/08 02:14 PM
02/10/08 02:14 PM
J
JValdes  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
Seperate line and load conductors. Seperate signaling (control) circuits. Yes, individul conduits. Install a line reactor for each control (VFD). If motor is more than 100' away from drive install a load reactor. Inductive currents from the drive output will dirty up the input conductors causing nuisance tripping of the drive. The only place where the conductors should meet is in the control panel. Keeping control, line and load away from each other. You can use one breaker and a terminal block for several drives. But you should use seperate line reactors.

Note: Some VFD's have the reactor built in.
Try www.baldor.com and look under brochures or manuals. You can get anything you want there in PDF format.
Check www.transcoil.com. Or search Trans Coil Inc. for line and load reators and further information.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
renosteinke
renosteinke
Blue Collar Country
Posts: 5,316
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 5
Popular Topics(Views)
247,608 Are you busy
184,941 Re: Forum
174,181 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9520 MB (Peak: 1.0753 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-06-20 07:30:40 UTC