ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Childrens safety outlets
by dsk - 06/25/22 04:07 PM
AC-DC stage Ultra-Fast charger, how it's made?
by libellis - 06/25/22 12:17 PM
Your favourite food?
by NORCAL - 06/16/22 12:06 AM
Price action trading with RENKO
by gfretwell - 06/15/22 02:08 PM
Please Help Wiring DCDC Buck Converter
by gfretwell - 06/15/22 01:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 11 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#174583 02/08/08 03:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
O
New Member
I am having some VFD issues, looking for advice. Can the line and load conductors from a VFD be in the same raceway and can the loads from multiple VFD's be in the same raceway. I have reviewed multiple VFD manufacturers installation manuals with no good direction.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

oldsparky #174602 02/08/08 09:49 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
oldsparky,

I have installed several VFDs with the line & load conductors in the same raceway, and they worked fine for years.

I did however have a problem with voltages induced in a VFD with a 5 volt control circuit that shared a raceway with the load conductors. The VFD load conductors were inducing about 8 volts in the control wires and if I let go of the stop button during the ramp-to-stop period, the motor started up again.

For various reasons, we couldn't run a separate contol conduit, so we actually bought a new drive with a 10 volt control circuit and the problem went away.

That all being said, I would call your suppliers VFD man. He should be able to advise you.

BTW,

Are they Allen Bradley?

Last edited by Redsy; 02/08/08 09:56 PM.
Redsy #174649 02/10/08 02:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
J
Member
Seperate line and load conductors. Seperate signaling (control) circuits. Yes, individul conduits. Install a line reactor for each control (VFD). If motor is more than 100' away from drive install a load reactor. Inductive currents from the drive output will dirty up the input conductors causing nuisance tripping of the drive. The only place where the conductors should meet is in the control panel. Keeping control, line and load away from each other. You can use one breaker and a terminal block for several drives. But you should use seperate line reactors.

Note: Some VFD's have the reactor built in.
Try www.baldor.com and look under brochures or manuals. You can get anything you want there in PDF format.
Check www.transcoil.com. Or search Trans Coil Inc. for line and load reators and further information.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 2
dobler 2
Asset 2
Popular Topics(Views)
293,163 Are you busy
225,241 Re: Forum
210,635 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5