ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/17/17 09:50 AM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:13 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,338 Are you busy
177,289 Re: Forum
168,921 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 39 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#173705 - 01/16/08 06:20 PM Botl in or stab in?  
rj  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Skidmore, Missouri, USA
I am in need of some information about bolt in breakers compared to stabe ins. I know that you are suppost to have a better connection with a bolt in, but what about maintenace in the long run. Myself I would rahter work and maintain the stabe in. Any others with that feeling or that bolt in is the best way to go?
Thanks for any input on this.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#173706 - 01/16/08 06:27 PM Re: Botl in or stab in? [Re: rj]  
wire_twister  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Georgia USA
I like the bolt in for areas with high load or vibration. I worked in manufacturing plants for about 16 years, most of the equipment was either Westinghouse or Square D bolt in type, all of it gave vary little trouble. As far as maint. goes we would shut down the panels once every other year and check the screws for tightness, I do not remember ever tightning one more than about 1/16 of a turn, of course all this was wired with copper wire, as it should be in an industrial setting.


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid

#173708 - 01/16/08 09:58 PM Re: Botl in or stab in? [Re: wire_twister]  
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
Industrial: bolt in every time. reliability.

Resi: stab ins are fine, very low demand.


#173725 - 01/17/08 07:59 AM Re: Botl in or stab in? [Re: leland]  
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Anywhere with potentially high fault current requires bolt-on, because the electromagnetic forces in a full-blown short-circuit fault can be enough to tear cables right out of set screws, and breakers right off the panel.

If you're just fed from a small transformer (ala residential size) or otherwise have low availible fault current, then it's less of an issue.


#173726 - 01/17/08 10:12 AM Re: Botl in or stab in? [Re: SteveFehr]  
electure  Offline


Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,262
Fullerton, CA USA
I agree with the rest of the guys that in most cases I prefer a bolted connection.

That said:
The Square D "I-Line" breaker, their premium offering, is a plug in.

[Linked Image]



The lowly ITE-Bulldog Pushmatic is a bolt on breaker.

[Linked Image]

laugh




Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7694 MB (Peak: 0.9102 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-17 16:51:57 UTC