ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by mbhydro. 07/21/18 05:57 PM
Opinions & comments
by HotLine1. 07/21/18 04:44 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 22 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Botl in or stab in? #173705
01/16/08 06:20 PM
01/16/08 06:20 PM
R
rj  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Skidmore, Missouri, USA
I am in need of some information about bolt in breakers compared to stabe ins. I know that you are suppost to have a better connection with a bolt in, but what about maintenace in the long run. Myself I would rahter work and maintain the stabe in. Any others with that feeling or that bolt in is the best way to go?
Thanks for any input on this.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Botl in or stab in? [Re: rj] #173706
01/16/08 06:27 PM
01/16/08 06:27 PM
W
wire_twister  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 265
Georgia USA
I like the bolt in for areas with high load or vibration. I worked in manufacturing plants for about 16 years, most of the equipment was either Westinghouse or Square D bolt in type, all of it gave vary little trouble. As far as maint. goes we would shut down the panels once every other year and check the screws for tightness, I do not remember ever tightning one more than about 1/16 of a turn, of course all this was wired with copper wire, as it should be in an industrial setting.


Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid
Re: Botl in or stab in? [Re: wire_twister] #173708
01/16/08 09:58 PM
01/16/08 09:58 PM
L
leland  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 853
Lowell area, Ma. USA
Industrial: bolt in every time. reliability.

Resi: stab ins are fine, very low demand.

Re: Botl in or stab in? [Re: leland] #173725
01/17/08 07:59 AM
01/17/08 07:59 AM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Anywhere with potentially high fault current requires bolt-on, because the electromagnetic forces in a full-blown short-circuit fault can be enough to tear cables right out of set screws, and breakers right off the panel.

If you're just fed from a small transformer (ala residential size) or otherwise have low availible fault current, then it's less of an issue.

Re: Botl in or stab in? [Re: SteveFehr] #173726
01/17/08 10:12 AM
01/17/08 10:12 AM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,271
Fullerton, CA USA
I agree with the rest of the guys that in most cases I prefer a bolted connection.

That said:
The Square D "I-Line" breaker, their premium offering, is a plug in.

[Linked Image]



The lowly ITE-Bulldog Pushmatic is a bolt on breaker.

[Linked Image]

laugh



Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,145
Joined: May 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,157 Are you busy
185,628 Re: Forum
174,988 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9686 MB (Peak: 1.1098 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-22 05:12:05 UTC