ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Is this safe?
by twh. 04/25/18 06:21 PM
Inspections and Testing
by HotLine1. 04/25/18 08:41 AM
FEMA height and electrical equiment.,
by HotLine1. 04/20/18 08:49 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by LongRunner. 04/19/18 04:02 PM
Recall notice: Square D Services Switches
by gfretwell. 04/18/18 01:24 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 10 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Christmas decorations #170848
11/13/07 08:45 PM
11/13/07 08:45 PM
S
Surfinsparky  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 73
merritt island fl usa
Well it looks like I have quite a few jobs this year for Christmas decorations.Just curious what some of you may have wired.One job I have this year is erect and power a 50' artificial tree.The total connected load is about 50 amps @ 120 volt.The customer has a 3 phase 5 wire circuit available to use.So I was thinking of using that and a contactor to provide on-off switching for tree lighting ceremony.The question is do I need a gfci.Well who am I kidding of course I need a gfci.Is there a way to wire the gfci to just trip the coil circuit.Anybody got any ideas??

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Christmas decorations [Re: Surfinsparky] #170879
11/13/07 11:52 PM
11/13/07 11:52 PM
S
SP4RX  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 56
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada...eh
All that I can think of would be to place a gfci in each of your three phase conductors with your lights as a load fed from the gfci. You could then use a cord from each gfci plug to power a relay with n.o. contacts in your main control wiring. This would give you 3 gfci plugs, each with it's own n.o. contact (in series) in the control wiring. A ground fault in any phase would kill the contactor power supply and disconnect all phases.

Not sure if this is what you're looking for though, I don't know why you would want all lights to go out because of a problem in one phase.


Shawn.

Re: Christmas decorations [Re: SP4RX] #170902
11/14/07 05:20 PM
11/14/07 05:20 PM
C
classicsat  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
I have heard of flat face GFCIs that have a ring in the back to put your own wire through. I don't know how they would work with 3 phase.

Re: Christmas decorations [Re: classicsat] #170911
11/14/07 09:08 PM
11/14/07 09:08 PM
Retired_Helper  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 165
Maine
Leviton used to make one like that. I don't know if they still do. I believe it was intended for high amperage, not sure if it could handle 3-phase. The ring was to accomodate a larger transformer than the one used in the 15A and 20A versions.

Last edited by Retired_Helper; 11/14/07 09:10 PM. Reason: Transformer note.
Re: Christmas decorations [Re: Retired_Helper] #170912
11/14/07 09:19 PM
11/14/07 09:19 PM
W
WESTUPLACE  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
Kingwood, TX USA
I would think it would be better to have a 3 pole contactor to control the on/off and then several GFCI outlets or breakers serving the tree. A single GFCI contolling the whole tree could lead to some time consuming trouble-shooting in event one of the strings of lights develop a ground fault. A few strings on each GFCI would not blackout the whole tree in the event of a ground fault. Robert

Re: Christmas decorations [Re: WESTUPLACE] #170913
11/14/07 09:30 PM
11/14/07 09:30 PM
S
Surfinsparky  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 73
merritt island fl usa
I think I was making it more difficult than it needed to be.So what plan to do is use a 3 pole contactor.Feed it with a 3 pole 20 amp breaker.Than use gfci adapters on the load side of the contactor.Now I got another job to wire about 150 amps worth of additional decorations.I guess a generator a several miles of extension cord will needed for this one.Temporary wiring provisions would apply.90 days is legal right.

Re: Christmas decorations [Re: classicsat] #170914
11/14/07 10:11 PM
11/14/07 10:11 PM
TOOL_5150  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 61
Bay Area
You need something like the Leviton 6895-B It has a coil in the back that you put your wire[s] through. Not sure if it will work on 3phase though.

~Matt


I would rather beg for forgiveness then beg for permission.

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
245,931 Are you busy
183,023 Re: Forum
172,782 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9853 MB (Peak: 1.1398 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-04-26 03:59:10 UTC