ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Kaz Recalls Stinger Insect Zappers
by Admin. 10/22/18 11:03 PM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/18/18 08:47 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (JoeTestingEngr, Admin), 5 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
"Grounding" an ungrounded receptacle #170357
11/01/07 03:04 PM
11/01/07 03:04 PM
Theelectrikid  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
[Linked Image]

Handyman 1 (the previous homeowner) decided to replace an ungrounded receptacle with a grounded one, so he put a wire from a cable clamp screw to the new recept. OK, not code-compliant, but better than usual.


That is, if this house wasn't wired with NM Cable.


Thankfully inspector 2 (Falls Twp.) caught it and Handyman 2 (the "fixit so we can sell it" one) removed it.

Ian (Hope I'm doing this right) A.


Last edited by Trumpy; 11/01/07 04:29 PM. Reason: Edit thread title
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Photo post: "Grounding" an ungrounded receptac [Re: Theelectrikid] #170360
11/01/07 03:47 PM
11/01/07 03:47 PM
Theelectrikid  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
Thanks to whoever moved this.

BTW, when I say "usual," I mean the usual thing he did in this house, put in a grounded receptacle in an ungrounded box without the jumper.

Still, that is if this house wasn't wired with NM.

Ian A.

Not a worry, Ian!

Last edited by Trumpy; 11/01/07 04:28 PM.
Re: Photo post: "Grounding" an ungrounded receptac [Re: Theelectrikid] #170410
11/02/07 12:22 PM
11/02/07 12:22 PM
J
JValdes  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
South Carolina
Why was it moved?

Re: Photo post: "Grounding" an ungrounded receptac [Re: JValdes] #170414
11/02/07 03:03 PM
11/02/07 03:03 PM
Theelectrikid  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
It failed the "three light" test so it was removed, and "replaced" with a new GFCI on the opposite side of the garage, tapped from a grounded living room circuit.

Ian A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?
Re: Photo post: "Grounding" an ungrounded receptac [Re: JValdes] #170417
11/02/07 06:05 PM
11/02/07 06:05 PM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,250
SI,New Zealand
Originally Posted by JValdes
Why was it moved?


Quote
If you would like to start a photo thread for the Violation, Discussion or Nostalgia areas you can start it in one of the General areas (ie General, NEC, Non-US etc.) and it can later be moved by a Mod into the appropriate photo area.


Besides,
it means that all the photo threads are all kept together in one area of the site and makes things easier to find.

Re: Photo post: "Grounding" an ungrounded receptac [Re: Trumpy] #170428
11/02/07 08:14 PM
11/02/07 08:14 PM
Theelectrikid  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 810
Levittown, PA
Oh, that "moved," I though he mistyped "removed..."

Ian (Wheres the coffee) A.


Is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,641 Are you busy
188,134 Re: Forum
177,810 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9785 MB (Peak: 1.1268 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-23 03:13:46 UTC