ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
334.80 and fire caulk
by gfretwell. 06/21/18 11:35 AM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by HotLine1. 06/13/18 01:50 PM
GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:32 PM
Ketra Recalls Recessed Downlights
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:17 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 06/11/18 07:31 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 42 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Drivers #168247
08/30/07 01:25 AM
08/30/07 01:25 AM
Trumpy  Offline
OP
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,236
SI,New Zealand
All computer gear requires drivers, that is for sure.
I've installed a heap of equipment on my Windas computer here, mainly because it won't work with any other OS.
That alone is a thing that I won't go into.
Now, I had a camera that I installed recently (or at least tried to), it was sold as Plug'n'Play, yet Windows would not accept the drivers for the device, even though it was "Digitally Signed" according to the Device Manager in my laptop.
Just who is being conned here?.
I couldn't care less about Vista, but even getting something simple done in XP "Pro", is a non-event.
In any device I've ever tried to get to agree with Windas, it is frustrating, it is annoying.
Most of the "Help" stuff is written by Windas fanboys anyway, so you only get thier opinions.
Dig a bit deeper, (if you have time) and you get the feeling that once the gear is sold, they don't care.
Windas Plug'n'Play is a joke.
Anyone that has been through the Windas "New Hardware Installation Wizard" a few times would have to agree with me.
Especially after a few prompts of either "Windows cannot find the disk you inserted, please insert a disk into D:\" or more commonly "The disk you have inserted does not contain the information required, please try again"
Computers have been dumbed down too much under Microsoft.

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Drivers [Re: Trumpy] #168251
08/30/07 01:47 AM
08/30/07 01:47 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,228
Estero,Fl,usa
Plug and Pray seldom really works. I usually just bypass all of that stuff and use the install/setup file on tre disk that comes with the hardware if there is one.
Sometimes using the "reinstall driver and "have disk" options from the control panel/system tab get you by the windoze problems. Make sure you don't have any hardware conflicts. That usually gets tagged on the system tab.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Drivers [Re: gfretwell] #168254
08/30/07 04:14 AM
08/30/07 04:14 AM
G
Gloria  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 364
Budapest, Hungary
Mike, try to check the name of the searched file during"The disk you have inserted does not contain the information required, please try again" message, go to search, and look for the file on the disk yourself. The best thing to do is to go onto the website of the manufacturer, and look up the driver.


The world is full of beauty if the heart is full of love
Re: Drivers [Re: Gloria] #168261
08/30/07 11:22 AM
08/30/07 11:22 AM
E
electech  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 113
Northern Il
I can't see how its Microsoft's fault that some 3rd party hardware vendor offers poor support for the worlds most popular operating system. I gave up griping about Microsoft quality after they released win95. They finally got their OS in the same ballpark as OS/2 (though years later). There is no other OS company that supports the shear volume of peripherals as Microsoft's do. And unless you really hose up winXP, it works very well. Getting things to work well, for the widest range of users, given the millions of combinations of hardware configurations possible is a big task. Give in to the dark side Luke!

Re: Drivers [Re: electech] #168271
08/30/07 08:22 PM
08/30/07 08:22 PM
J
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 793
Chicago, Il.
Mike,
My experience has been that the installation grief has come from my computer seeing the new hardware before the new software. The successful flow is usually running a setup, then rebooting, and only then, connecting the new hardware. Is this how you have been doing it?
Joe

Re: Drivers [Re: electech] #168280
08/31/07 12:39 AM
08/31/07 12:39 AM
noderaser  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 404
Portland, Oregon, United State...
Originally Posted by electech
I can't see how its Microsoft's fault that some 3rd party hardware vendor offers poor support for the worlds most popular operating system.


I would agree to "most common", but not "most popular".

Re: Drivers [Re: noderaser] #168305
08/31/07 02:23 PM
08/31/07 02:23 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,228
Estero,Fl,usa
The real problem is microsoft's very liberal intrepretation of their own published interface standards.
Windoze is basically a 30 megabyte operating system with 500 megabites of patches on it. Instead of fixing problems they just write another couple of megabytes of code around it. They also force everyone to install software a fraction of a percent of users will ever want or use.
That is why I still have several DOS machines that can load and run all the software I use off a single diskette (about 100kb). The W/98 equivilent solution is well over 200 meg and requires over twice as much CPU power.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 5
Popular Topics(Views)
247,669 Are you busy
184,991 Re: Forum
174,296 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9876 MB (Peak: 1.1413 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-06-23 02:24:29 UTC