ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
Don't you buy this stuff
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:00 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
circuit tracer #167903
08/22/07 12:53 PM
08/22/07 12:53 PM
F
frank  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 376
windsor ontario canada
I had to trace a circuit today and found that the tracer was registering in four different branch panels.What would be the cause?
thanks

Last edited by frank; 08/22/07 12:55 PM.
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: circuit tracer [Re: frank] #167904
08/22/07 01:09 PM
08/22/07 01:09 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,271
Fullerton, CA USA
Frank,
Depending on the type of tester you are using you may need to turn down the sensitivity of the tester to find out which panel/breaker is feeding your circuit.

If the panels share a common transformer, they'll often read right through the system on a high sensitivity setting.

What kind of tester are you using??

Re: circuit tracer [Re: electure] #167918
08/22/07 11:44 PM
08/22/07 11:44 PM
F
frank  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 376
windsor ontario canada
Sorry that was vague.This may be worse.
I have a three phase 208,120 volt branch panel LE-GB4 where breakers #33 and #2 both signal at the finest setting.At the course setting the tracer also only signals around these two breakers.The same is happening in another branch panel LE-GB2 but with only one breaker.Both branch panels are fed from the same power panel.
We just had new power panels Installed and they had opened and closed the distribution breaker up steam of the old power panels many times during plant shutdowns with no problems.Now anything plugged in to these circuits burn up from a surge as soon as the distribution breaker is closed.(i know they could open the branch panel breakers)
Since this is part of the emergency standby system we think it may happen on a power failure.I have installed some blue Hubble surge suppression 4-plex receptacles for now and it may hide the problem but not fix it.
thanks

Re: circuit tracer [Re: frank] #167926
08/23/07 09:35 AM
08/23/07 09:35 AM
W
WESTUPLACE  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
Kingwood, TX USA
Loose or high resistance neutral. Check ALL neutral and bonding jumpers, both in the distribution & branch panels. Also neutrals on the affected ckt, a loose or bad shared neutral on a 120/208 ckt will surely cause problems like this. Also look for a grounded neutral on a ckt. If you close a main breaker and there is a poor or undersized neutral, but also a ckt with a neutral to ground short, when the inrush current is present as the main is closed, it will try to get a ground (neutral) at the lowest resistance point. This can be the neutral to ground point. (and may be thru the affected equipment) Robert


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Alan Belson
Alan Belson
Mayenne N. France
Posts: 1,803
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
248,548 Are you busy
186,243 Re: Forum
175,723 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9600 MB (Peak: 1.0922 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-16 08:08:50 UTC