ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 220 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
P
I'm a consultant who specializes in industrial hygiene issues; no expert in electrical safety at all.

I have a client who has a LO/TO program which is in woeful shape. I'm giving them some advice about getting up to speed, and one of the issues that I raised was the lack of labeling (with regard to purpose) they have on their electrical disconnects. Talked to them about it.

Someone raised the issue that this requirement [29 CFR 1910.303 (f)] doesn't apply to circuit breakers. I disagree, at least from a safety perspective.

Thoughts? Opinions?

Appreciate the advice greatly.

--Patti Ann

Tom Offline
"Disconnecting means- A device or group of devices or other means by which the conductors of a circuit can be disconnected from their source of supply." Sounds just like what a circuit breaker can do.

"110.22 Each disconnecting means shall be legibly marked to indicate its purpose unless located and arranged so the purpose is evident."

If I inspect a service & the branch circuits are connected (new construction only) and the panel schedule isn't filled out, you get a red sticker & get to write me another check when I come back.

Tom

[This message has been edited by Tom (edited 11-14-2002).]

Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
N