ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 2
Recent Posts
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
2017 NEC Changes
by luckyshadow. 12/04/17 06:08 PM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
242,998 Are you busy
179,390 Re: Forum
170,355 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 38 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#165501 - 06/29/07 02:38 AM 3 phase in residential?  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Had one of those - "Oh my word, I'm doing it too?" moments yesturday. In my own head I turned a standard practice (Not installing 3-phase in resi) into a non-existant code in my own mind. I've torn apart the code looking for something that isn't there. (Or was it, or is it. and I can't find it????) crazy Self-realization of hypocritical practice is a bummer. (That practice being creating non-existant codes.)


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#165516 - 06/29/07 08:39 AM Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: e57]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,877
Brick, NJ USA
Mark:
It's dependent and the decision of the Utility Co here in NJ (PSE&G or JCP&L) areas.

With dereg, it can become a $$$$ cost to the owner.

John


John

#165522 - 06/29/07 04:03 PM Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: HotLine1]  
wa2ise  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 784
Oradell NJ USA
In my hometown (Oradell NJ) there's a few 50's era high end houses that are fed 3 phase power. Looks to be open deltas with a wild leg (240V center tapped grounded, and 208 to the wild leg). Yhese high end houses must have had central air built in as new, and back then the units must have required 3 phase power. Once went to a garage sale at one of these houses, and I saw a main panel, and what probably was a subpanel for the rest of the house (non air conditioning 120V loads). I suppose one could connect an electric dryer using the wild leg, if you're careful to make sure the 120V motor does in fact get the 120V line and the other end of the 240V heater element gets the wild leg. Probably not code, though...


#165524 - 06/29/07 04:36 PM Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: wa2ise]  
Alan Nadon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
Elkhart, IN. USA
Had only one three phase home in the city.
Mansion built in the 1920's.
240V, 400 amp. Remember 1920's.
They installed the three phase because it had an elevator and air conditioning.
They demolished it last year to make room for a McMansion that has yet to be built.
Alan--
Now it is common to see 400 and 600 amp single phase on houses, mostly because the POCO won't supply three phase.



Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.


Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.011s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7620 MB (Peak: 0.8964 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-11 15:15:57 UTC