ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by HotLine1 - 03/04/21 12:35 PM
Lock-down Thread
by gfretwell - 03/03/21 12:38 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 21 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
3 phase in residential? #165501 06/29/07 02:38 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline OP
Member
Had one of those - "Oh my word, I'm doing it too?" moments yesturday. In my own head I turned a standard practice (Not installing 3-phase in resi) into a non-existant code in my own mind. I've torn apart the code looking for something that isn't there. (Or was it, or is it. and I can't find it????) crazy Self-realization of hypocritical practice is a bummer. (That practice being creating non-existant codes.)


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: e57] #165516 06/29/07 08:39 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,235
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Mark:
It's dependent and the decision of the Utility Co here in NJ (PSE&G or JCP&L) areas.

With dereg, it can become a $$$$ cost to the owner.

John


John
Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: HotLine1] #165522 06/29/07 04:03 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 790
W
wa2ise Offline
Member
In my hometown (Oradell NJ) there's a few 50's era high end houses that are fed 3 phase power. Looks to be open deltas with a wild leg (240V center tapped grounded, and 208 to the wild leg). Yhese high end houses must have had central air built in as new, and back then the units must have required 3 phase power. Once went to a garage sale at one of these houses, and I saw a main panel, and what probably was a subpanel for the rest of the house (non air conditioning 120V loads). I suppose one could connect an electric dryer using the wild leg, if you're careful to make sure the 120V motor does in fact get the 120V line and the other end of the 240V heater element gets the wild leg. Probably not code, though...

Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: wa2ise] #165524 06/29/07 04:36 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
A
Alan Nadon Offline
Member
Had only one three phase home in the city.
Mansion built in the 1920's.
240V, 400 amp. Remember 1920's.
They installed the three phase because it had an elevator and air conditioning.
They demolished it last year to make room for a McMansion that has yet to be built.
Alan--
Now it is common to see 400 and 600 amp single phase on houses, mostly because the POCO won't supply three phase.



Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
NickD
NickD
Amish Country, PA
Posts: 46
Joined: March 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,655 Are you busy
209,581 Re: Forum
196,935 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3