ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,059 Are you busy
175,682 Re: Forum
167,900 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 58 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#165501 - 06/29/07 03:38 AM 3 phase in residential?  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Had one of those - "Oh my word, I'm doing it too?" moments yesturday. In my own head I turned a standard practice (Not installing 3-phase in resi) into a non-existant code in my own mind. I've torn apart the code looking for something that isn't there. (Or was it, or is it. and I can't find it????) crazy Self-realization of hypocritical practice is a bummer. (That practice being creating non-existant codes.)


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#165516 - 06/29/07 09:39 AM Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: e57]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,858
Brick, NJ USA
Mark:
It's dependent and the decision of the Utility Co here in NJ (PSE&G or JCP&L) areas.

With dereg, it can become a $$$$ cost to the owner.

John


John

#165522 - 06/29/07 05:03 PM Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: HotLine1]  
wa2ise  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 783
Oradell NJ USA
In my hometown (Oradell NJ) there's a few 50's era high end houses that are fed 3 phase power. Looks to be open deltas with a wild leg (240V center tapped grounded, and 208 to the wild leg). Yhese high end houses must have had central air built in as new, and back then the units must have required 3 phase power. Once went to a garage sale at one of these houses, and I saw a main panel, and what probably was a subpanel for the rest of the house (non air conditioning 120V loads). I suppose one could connect an electric dryer using the wild leg, if you're careful to make sure the 120V motor does in fact get the 120V line and the other end of the 240V heater element gets the wild leg. Probably not code, though...


#165524 - 06/29/07 05:36 PM Re: 3 phase in residential? [Re: wa2ise]  
Alan Nadon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 399
Elkhart, IN. USA
Had only one three phase home in the city.
Mansion built in the 1920's.
240V, 400 amp. Remember 1920's.
They installed the three phase because it had an elevator and air conditioning.
They demolished it last year to make room for a McMansion that has yet to be built.
Alan--
Now it is common to see 400 and 600 amp single phase on houses, mostly because the POCO won't supply three phase.



Alan--
If it was easy, anyone could do it.


Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.010s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7618 MB (Peak: 0.8961 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-22 05:20:37 UTC