ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,436 Are you busy
177,413 Re: Forum
169,006 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#164282 - 05/30/07 10:12 AM rough-in check  
azelec  Offline
New Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
arizona
HI,

I am going into a job that is a complete remodel/rewire. The house is 90% roughed. This was done by non-electricians. Right off there are box fill issues and 2 incorrect sub-panel feeders. Overall it does not seem too bad.

My question: aside from visually tracing each wire, does anyone have a procedure that they use to ensure that each box has been feed?

Thanks


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#164284 - 05/30/07 03:50 PM Re: rough-in check [Re: azelec]  
bot540  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Vernon Hills, IL
Sounds like it could be huge headache. I hope you charged accordingly.


Jesus may have been a capenter,but God was an electrician.Genesis1:3

#164285 - 05/30/07 04:08 PM Re: rough-in check [Re: azelec]  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Originally Posted by azelec
HI,

I am going into a job that is a complete remodel/rewire. The house is 90% roughed. This was done by non-electricians. Right off there are box fill issues and 2 incorrect sub-panel feeders. Overall it does not seem too bad.

My question: aside from visually tracing each wire, does anyone have a procedure that they use to ensure that each box has been feed?

Thanks


From past experience, we found these jobs take longer to do then a fresh new job start, I would bid it as if if nothing was there, and add a bit extra.

These jobs can take more time to complete then a new start, be very cautious when you examine the work that was done.


#164288 - 05/30/07 05:42 PM Re: rough-in check [Re: LK]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,872
Brick, NJ USA
Ditto with LK. "As-built" jobs, or 'second hand' jobs are time consuming, and can be a liability...IF you don't check the complete job.

Judging by your 'box fill' and sub-panel feeder situations......look real good.
John


John

#164307 - 05/30/07 09:06 PM Re: rough-in check [Re: HotLine1]  
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 719
Tucson, AZ USA
I have had a couple of requests like that. The first one I just said sorry, my insurance company doesn't permit me to finish someone else's work. The second one I said, rip everything out then I'll go in and give you a bid to do it from scratch.

Of course I got neither job.

By the way, are you in Tucson?


#164309 - 05/30/07 09:26 PM Re: rough-in check [Re: azelec]  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Originally Posted by azelec
My question: aside from visually tracing each wire, does anyone have a procedure that they use to ensure that each box has been feed?

Thanks


YES! Ring it all out... Take one large (annoy the whole neighborhood sized) doorbell and transformer. Remove all the beakers and feeds in the panel. (Especially the neutrals) Then take all the branch circuit hots and wire them to one side of the transformer, the other to the bell. And take the other side of the bell loop and connect that to all you neutrals. (If you isolate the buss, its easier if they are all connected already...) Then go to each outlet (and close the loop like a switch) by shorting hot and neutral... Close the switches and check each lighting outlet too. when you short the wires, you hear the bell ring, and you know you have a hot and neutral. If you can isolate the grounding for the panel and not in metal studs, you can do the same for grounds too. FYI you CAN NOT do this with low voltage lighting! for that you need to power them, and put a lamp in each one...

But either way, I would video the install, and make a full line diagram of the whole place before rock!


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#164322 - 05/31/07 09:57 AM Re: rough-in check [Re: e57]  
azelec  Offline
New Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
arizona
Thanks for the help e57. And for the advice from others.

BigB I am in Sedona.





#164354 - 06/01/07 06:20 AM Re: rough-in check [Re: azelec]  
electure  Offline


Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,262
Fullerton, CA USA
You might want to megger the wiring before anything gets covered up.


#164384 - 06/01/07 08:44 PM Re: rough-in check [Re: electure]  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Originally Posted by electure
You might want to megger the wiring before anything gets covered up.


Like one of these we use on old work, take over. and fire jobs. [Linked Image]



Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8037 MB (Peak: 0.9772 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-22 02:37:42 UTC