ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/18/18 09:08 AM
Light Pole Grounding
by Mosfet74. 08/18/18 08:42 AM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
rough-in check #164282
05/30/07 10:12 AM
05/30/07 10:12 AM
A
azelec  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
arizona
HI,

I am going into a job that is a complete remodel/rewire. The house is 90% roughed. This was done by non-electricians. Right off there are box fill issues and 2 incorrect sub-panel feeders. Overall it does not seem too bad.

My question: aside from visually tracing each wire, does anyone have a procedure that they use to ensure that each box has been feed?

Thanks

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: rough-in check [Re: azelec] #164284
05/30/07 03:50 PM
05/30/07 03:50 PM
B
bot540  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 174
Vernon Hills, IL
Sounds like it could be huge headache. I hope you charged accordingly.


Jesus may have been a capenter,but God was an electrician.Genesis1:3
Re: rough-in check [Re: azelec] #164285
05/30/07 04:08 PM
05/30/07 04:08 PM
L
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Originally Posted by azelec
HI,

I am going into a job that is a complete remodel/rewire. The house is 90% roughed. This was done by non-electricians. Right off there are box fill issues and 2 incorrect sub-panel feeders. Overall it does not seem too bad.

My question: aside from visually tracing each wire, does anyone have a procedure that they use to ensure that each box has been feed?

Thanks


From past experience, we found these jobs take longer to do then a fresh new job start, I would bid it as if if nothing was there, and add a bit extra.

These jobs can take more time to complete then a new start, be very cautious when you examine the work that was done.

Re: rough-in check [Re: LK] #164288
05/30/07 05:42 PM
05/30/07 05:42 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,997
Brick, NJ USA
Ditto with LK. "As-built" jobs, or 'second hand' jobs are time consuming, and can be a liability...IF you don't check the complete job.

Judging by your 'box fill' and sub-panel feeder situations......look real good.
John


John
Re: rough-in check [Re: HotLine1] #164307
05/30/07 09:06 PM
05/30/07 09:06 PM
B
BigB  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 728
Tucson, AZ USA
I have had a couple of requests like that. The first one I just said sorry, my insurance company doesn't permit me to finish someone else's work. The second one I said, rip everything out then I'll go in and give you a bid to do it from scratch.

Of course I got neither job.

By the way, are you in Tucson?

Re: rough-in check [Re: azelec] #164309
05/30/07 09:26 PM
05/30/07 09:26 PM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Originally Posted by azelec
My question: aside from visually tracing each wire, does anyone have a procedure that they use to ensure that each box has been feed?

Thanks


YES! Ring it all out... Take one large (annoy the whole neighborhood sized) doorbell and transformer. Remove all the beakers and feeds in the panel. (Especially the neutrals) Then take all the branch circuit hots and wire them to one side of the transformer, the other to the bell. And take the other side of the bell loop and connect that to all you neutrals. (If you isolate the buss, its easier if they are all connected already...) Then go to each outlet (and close the loop like a switch) by shorting hot and neutral... Close the switches and check each lighting outlet too. when you short the wires, you hear the bell ring, and you know you have a hot and neutral. If you can isolate the grounding for the panel and not in metal studs, you can do the same for grounds too. FYI you CAN NOT do this with low voltage lighting! for that you need to power them, and put a lamp in each one...

But either way, I would video the install, and make a full line diagram of the whole place before rock!


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: rough-in check [Re: e57] #164322
05/31/07 09:57 AM
05/31/07 09:57 AM
A
azelec  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
arizona
Thanks for the help e57. And for the advice from others.

BigB I am in Sedona.




Re: rough-in check [Re: azelec] #164354
06/01/07 06:20 AM
06/01/07 06:20 AM
electure  Online Sleepy

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,271
Fullerton, CA USA
You might want to megger the wiring before anything gets covered up.

Re: rough-in check [Re: electure] #164384
06/01/07 08:44 PM
06/01/07 08:44 PM
L
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Originally Posted by electure
You might want to megger the wiring before anything gets covered up.


Like one of these we use on old work, take over. and fire jobs. [Linked Image]


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,616 Are you busy
186,360 Re: Forum
175,818 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0035 MB (Peak: 1.1761 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-19 01:48:35 UTC