ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:37 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (gfretwell), 22 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
two wire and GFCI #163853
05/19/07 01:22 AM
05/19/07 01:22 AM
Niko  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
The NEC clearly states that a two wire receptacle can be replaced with a GFCI.
I did that, however, when i test the GFCI with a lightbulb load, hot to ground the GFCI does not trip.

I thought it was a bad GFCI, so i replaced and it still did not trip.

What could be going on?

Thanks.


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: two wire and GFCI [Re: Niko] #163854
05/19/07 01:33 AM
05/19/07 01:33 AM
S
stamcon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 330
So San Francisco CA
There's no "ground" for the current to "leak" to. If you used the test light from the GFCI protected hot, to the ground or grounded conductor of an extension cord, plugged into a grounded receptacle, the GFCI would trip.

steve


Steve
Re: two wire and GFCI [Re: stamcon] #163859
05/19/07 09:12 AM
05/19/07 09:12 AM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
You've got to watch those 2 wire GFI's when they have a metal cover. I stuck a bugeye tester in one and pressed the test button and that energized the faceplate. The GFI passed the trip test as I completed the path to ground because I was touching the faceplate.

Keep in mind that a GFI receptacle is not a cure all for 2 wire replacements. 250-114 has a list of equipment that is required to be grounded and a GFI on a 2 wire circuit doesn't provide the required grounding.


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: two wire and GFCI [Re: Niko] #163860
05/19/07 09:46 AM
05/19/07 09:46 AM
Niko  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
Thanks for your input.
i realized what the problem of my test was.

Thanks.


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sparky66wv
sparky66wv
West Virginia
Posts: 2,236
Joined: November 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
Popular Topics(Views)
249,382 Are you busy
187,312 Re: Forum
176,658 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9604 MB (Peak: 1.0922 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-23 01:07:56 UTC