ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 4
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,887 Are you busy
175,462 Re: Forum
167,736 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 34 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#163853 - 05/19/07 01:22 AM two wire and GFCI  
Niko  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
The NEC clearly states that a two wire receptacle can be replaced with a GFCI.
I did that, however, when i test the GFCI with a lightbulb load, hot to ground the GFCI does not trip.

I thought it was a bad GFCI, so i replaced and it still did not trip.

What could be going on?

Thanks.


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#163854 - 05/19/07 01:33 AM Re: two wire and GFCI [Re: Niko]  
stamcon  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 329
So San Francisco CA
There's no "ground" for the current to "leak" to. If you used the test light from the GFCI protected hot, to the ground or grounded conductor of an extension cord, plugged into a grounded receptacle, the GFCI would trip.

steve


#163859 - 05/19/07 09:12 AM Re: two wire and GFCI [Re: stamcon]  
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
You've got to watch those 2 wire GFI's when they have a metal cover. I stuck a bugeye tester in one and pressed the test button and that energized the faceplate. The GFI passed the trip test as I completed the path to ground because I was touching the faceplate.

Keep in mind that a GFI receptacle is not a cure all for 2 wire replacements. 250-114 has a list of equipment that is required to be grounded and a GFI on a 2 wire circuit doesn't provide the required grounding.


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.

#163860 - 05/19/07 09:46 AM Re: two wire and GFCI [Re: Niko]  
Niko  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
Thanks for your input.
i realized what the problem of my test was.

Thanks.


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live



Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.012s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7609 MB (Peak: 0.8953 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-18 03:03:32 UTC