ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Changing a Bulb
by gfretwell. 07/14/18 03:12 PM
Tray cable?
by gfretwell. 07/11/18 10:18 PM
Eaton Heavy Duty 30A and 60A Safety Switches
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:49 PM
ORTOVOX Recalls Avalanche Transceivers
by Admin. 07/11/18 09:44 PM
Tingle off the water spigot
by gfretwell. 07/08/18 12:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 28 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Bolted Pressure Switch #163680
05/14/07 03:02 PM
05/14/07 03:02 PM
Admin  Offline
OP
Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,503
NY, USA
Quote
The insulated arm that connects to the CBC operator to the movable blades/contacts on this bolted pressure switch (Manufactured by Pringle) is broken. Due to this the movable blases are not hitting the cam stops properly, this is resulting in the blades not being fully closed on "B" phase.

While the broken arm is not visible in the IR opicture it is obviuos in the real time picture. Center bottom red vertical fiber arm. This is extremly critical not just because of the thermal issue (which will only get worse as time passes, if not repaired). But this is a Main Line Service Disconnect on a 2000 Amp 480/277 VAC service, with NEC required GFP. Should this switch try to open from a GFP operation (or human interface) the results could be devasting.

- BGaquin (Brian)

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: Admin] #163708
05/15/07 12:09 PM
05/15/07 12:09 PM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
I think I would try to open all the loads first and see if i can get the utility to open their primary protection before i tried to operate that puppy.

Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: mikesh] #163709
05/15/07 12:33 PM
05/15/07 12:33 PM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Chicago Illinois USA
I agree with Mikesh; I'd also get the Pringle rep out to look at it ahead of time so you could get all of the parts needed to fix it ordered and on site before you schedule your shutdown.
You should be able to have the POCO pull their OCP, open this guy, then fix this and get the power restored.
Based on what it looks like in the picture, you're probably looking at a 6-8 hour outage.
I've had decent luck with our local POCO if I ask the lineman to kill the power first thing on his schedule and come back right before the end of his shift to liven it up again.


Ghost307
Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: ghost307] #163721
05/15/07 05:06 PM
05/15/07 05:06 PM
B
BGaquin  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 14
Sterling, VA
I stock Pringle parts and do all repairs in house.

The repair consisted of as noted above opening all downstream loads and a utility outage.

Replacement of defective parts, testing the contact resistance of the power contacts (micro-ohm), testing the GFP and meggering the line and load bus (utility disconnected, downstream loads off and GFP control fuses lifted).

Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: BGaquin] #163730
05/15/07 09:10 PM
05/15/07 09:10 PM
V
VAElec  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 49
Sterling, Virginia, US
Nice find! What's the delta T on this?


Pete
Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: VAElec] #163735
05/15/07 09:26 PM
05/15/07 09:26 PM
B
BGaquin  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 14
Sterling, VA
I have the complete report in my office I will have to research this. This particular photo was taken in a FLIR proprietary program and the format was not recognizable by photo bucket (at least I was not able to convert it)

VAelec.

My office is in Sterling.

Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: BGaquin] #163737
05/15/07 09:40 PM
05/15/07 09:40 PM
V
VAElec  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 49
Sterling, Virginia, US
If you have a chance, you can pull images straight from the camera before inserting it into one of the FLIR reporting programs and what you see on the camera is what you will see in the image you pull off of it. Just FYI.

My office is also in Sterling (I don't like a long commute, hence living in the same town). I have actually been by your shop to pick up a ground fault relay and various other parts to repair problems like you found. Is this one of the nightmare to shutdown government/gov. contractor buildings in the region? If so, have fun scheduling the shutdown! Often they don't seem to understand that it's not an IF it fails, but a WHEN it fails issue.


Pete
Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: VAElec] #163744
05/16/07 08:42 AM
05/16/07 08:42 AM
I
ITO  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 348
Texas
I really need to buy a thermal imaging camera and do my own inspection, just out of self protection.


101° Rx = + /_\
Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: ITO] #163754
05/16/07 11:31 AM
05/16/07 11:31 AM
M
mikesh  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 613
Victoria, BC, Canada
When the customer balks at repairing the switch just explain how many days or weeks they will be out when it fails or their liability exposure should it blow when someone tries to operate it and the lawyer finds out they knew there is a problem. Of course that is assuming the building survives the fire. The hardest part of any of these kinds of discoveries is the amount of time to failure and expressing that to the customer who will naturally want to wait as long as possible (read forever). No one actually know how long the customer can go before there is a deadline.

Re: Bolted Pressure Switch [Re: mikesh] #163757
05/16/07 12:04 PM
05/16/07 12:04 PM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 945
Chicago Illinois USA
I generally shrug and tell that it's their call. They can schedule the 8 hour shutdown at their convenience or call me in the middle of the night during their busiest season and we'll start the clock running on their 1-2 week outage...and the estimate that I gave them won't be valid.


Ghost307
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Attic Rat
Attic Rat
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
Posts: 524
Joined: December 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Popular Topics(Views)
248,138 Are you busy
185,590 Re: Forum
174,931 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 16 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0263 MB (Peak: 1.2066 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-20 03:02:14 UTC