ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/11/17 12:10 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,014 Are you busy
179,414 Re: Forum
170,373 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 27 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#163205 - 05/03/07 08:22 PM To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my qwery  
Attic Rat  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Bergen Co.,N.J. USA
... Hi gang, I'm planning on running a 60 amp, 240 volt, single phase feeder out to a detached garage to a sub-panel...my question is... do I need a ground rod out there, or will the bare grounding wire in the SER cable suffice?? I'm using 1-1/4" pvc pipe to go underground, but if I don't use SER, and just pull THHN,..does the grounding conductor then have to be insulated??

Thanx....


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#163208 - 05/03/07 10:19 PM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my q [Re: Attic Rat]  
Gregtaylor  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
Boise, Idaho, USA
Can't quote chapterand verse since I don;t have the book right here, but if you are feeding a panel in a seperate building it must be seperately grounded and since you will be using PVC as a raceway you don't need to pull a ground wire at all. Why would you even consider SER in a raceway?


#163209 - 05/03/07 10:32 PM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my q [Re: Gregtaylor]  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Feeder, separate building ... need a ground rod.

Whatever method you use, I recommend treating it as a 'sub-panel.' That means having a ground wire back to the main panel, and keeping the neutrals and grounds apart.


#163210 - 05/03/07 11:31 PM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my qwery [Re: Attic Rat]  
Gregtaylor  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 212
Boise, Idaho, USA
While I agree with Reno's interpretation of this issue, around here the inspectors consider a ground wire with the feeder and a seperate ground rod or two to be parallel grounding.


#163212 - 05/03/07 11:40 PM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my qwery [Re: Gregtaylor]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,140
Estero,Fl,usa
If you didn't rebond the neutral in the far panel your inspectors would be wrong. In fact, in 2008 250.32(B)(2) will be gone and you will be required to run a 4 wire feeder.


Greg Fretwell

#163213 - 05/03/07 11:59 PM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my qwery [Re: Attic Rat]  
Niko  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 356
Campbell, CA
250.32 (A) and 250.32(B)(1)(2)
I don't think insulated or not will make a difference on the EGC. I would run an EGC and install a separate ground rod and bond the EGC to it, however, I do not bond the grounded conductor to the grounding bar.

Edward


Be kind to your neighbor, he knows where you live


#163217 - 05/04/07 05:10 AM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my qwery [Re: Niko]  
jdo1942  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
st. louis, mo. usa
There is apparently many ideas on how to to this, but the current code is that you run a four feeder and use an insulated ground wire once you leave the main building and go into the ground. And you separate the ground bar and neutral. In our area the the AHJ will tell you to remove the ground rod, paralell path.


#163218 - 05/04/07 05:37 AM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my q [Re: jdo1942]  
Fred  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
Straughn, IN 47387
You must install a grounding electrode at the structure served! How in the world do these AHJs get around 250.32(A)? An AHJ who makes you remove a ground rod from a structure served by a feeder needs to be re-educated.


#163220 - 05/04/07 05:43 AM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my qwery [Re: Attic Rat]  
RonS  Offline
New Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 3
Charlotte, NC
I recently fed a detached garage in our area. The local AHJ requires a four-wire feed in addition to two (that's right - two!) 8' ground rods - 6' apart with a #4 copper conductor. The garage is 10' from the house which also has two ground rods in addition to the cold water bond also a #4. That gives me 4 ground rods in a 25' radius plus the cold water bond. All #4.


#163227 - 05/04/07 08:51 AM Re: To ground, or not to ground,... that,..is my qwery [Re: Attic Rat]  
yanici  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 58
Atlantis
I'm too lazy to open the book. I believe the egc is necessary if there is any metallic connection to the main structure, such as water pipe , gas, etc. The ground rod IS REQUIRED even if an egc is pulled in.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 16 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8199 MB (Peak: 1.0028 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-12 17:47:11 UTC