ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by gfretwell. 08/22/17 07:04 PM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,106 Are you busy
175,721 Re: Forum
167,931 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 80 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#163127 - 05/01/07 06:17 PM How to phase a motor  
bwise121  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 114
Sacramento, CA USA
I've been asked to phase a 3-phase motor. I'm not sure if this is normally the electrician's job or the HVAC's. What type of meter do I need and what is the process?

Thanks,
Byron


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#163131 - 05/01/07 08:25 PM Re: How to phase a motor [Re: bwise121]  
RobbieD  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Question-

Do you just have to do a rotation test?

or

Do you have this 3 phase motor and all of the winding connections are all apart and you need to connect them up?


#163132 - 05/01/07 08:39 PM Re: How to phase a motor [Re: RobbieD]  
bwise121  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 114
Sacramento, CA USA
Rotation test only.


#163133 - 05/01/07 08:56 PM Re: How to phase a motor [Re: bwise121]  
RobbieD  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
If its for a piece of equipment that won't mind it going the wrong way for a short time then I would just do the 50/50 test. If you find it going the wrong direction just change it. No meters required just eyes.



#163134 - 05/01/07 09:16 PM Re: How to phase a motor [Re: RobbieD]  
bwise121  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 114
Sacramento, CA USA
But... if I want to meter it and have it going the right way to begin with?



#163136 - 05/01/07 09:34 PM Re: How to phase a motor [Re: bwise121]  
togol  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 421
NW In. USA
there are two types of phase rotation meters one requires line voltage to operate and the other is self-powered to check motors that are unwired...or going back into service

you use the powered type by connecting the three meter leads to your source voltage usually at the equipments last termination such as a starter or disconnect to verify your incoming voltage...and if you have an arrow on the motor..you then connect the motor leads 1,2,3, for the correct rotation..which as I recall is CCW opposite the shaft end

if you want to check a dead motor and can turn the shaft, use the self-powered type ...again connecting the meter leads to the motor leads and turn the shaft

several are available from Fluke, AEMC, Knopp,....
and Ideal makes a multimeter that you can use




Tom

#163137 - 05/01/07 09:48 PM Re: How to phase a motor [Re: bwise121]  
togol  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 421
NW In. USA
BTW, in my opinion the Fluke is overpriced at almost $200.00

the AEMC PMR-2 is the most economical, <<<<I own this one

while the Knopp is the most rugged and has been around a long time


Tom

#163138 - 05/01/07 10:47 PM Re: How to phase a motor [Re: bwise121]  
togol  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 421
NW In. USA
and there are several to choose from right here at the ECN Store
https://www.electrical-contractor.net/The_Store/EX/480300_303.htm

Last edited by togol; 05/01/07 10:48 PM. Reason: spelling

Tom


Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7932 MB (Peak: 0.9566 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 02:36:44 UTC