ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by jake2018. 11/19/18 01:35 AM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 42 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Single Phase 220V from 3 phase Y 208 #162912
04/27/07 04:13 PM
04/27/07 04:13 PM
G
GCI  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
AZ, USA
I have 3 phase Y 208 at my office. Purchased a lift that has a pump motor on it that requires 220 sigle phase. Any two legs of three phase are 120 degrees out of phase, I have seen wiring for welders wired this way, but a - motor probably requires 180 degrees phase difference? Step up transformer or other solution?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Single Phase 220V from 3 phase Y 208 [Re: GCI] #162921
04/27/07 05:51 PM
04/27/07 05:51 PM
R
RobbieD  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 231
Canada
Just hook it up to 208V. It will work fine.

What type of engineer are you?

Re: Single Phase 220V from 3 phase Y 208 [Re: GCI] #162937
04/27/07 07:13 PM
04/27/07 07:13 PM
J
JBD  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
WI, USA
Originally Posted by GCI
I have 3 phase Y 208 at my office. Purchased a lift that has a pump motor on it that requires 220 sigle phase. Any two legs of three phase are 120 degrees out of phase, I have seen wiring for welders wired this way, but a - motor probably requires 180 degrees phase difference? Step up transformer or other solution?


2-wire motors are wired line-line. There is no phase difference between only two wires. The concern is that you actually have enough voltage to run your motor, the worst case is you will need to use a buck-boost transformer. Is your motor really 220V and not 230V?

Re: Single Phase 220V from 3 phase Y 208 [Re: JBD] #163009
04/28/07 10:01 PM
04/28/07 10:01 PM
D
Dave T  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 155
Waukesha, WI, USA
Have you asked the manufacturer or the pump motor manufacturer??
This is not to be taken for an answer to you application but some background for the answer you should get from the manufacture.
If in fact it is a 220v motor od it NEMA rated? If so antivipate that it is able to operate satisfactory a +-10% of that which would be 220 x.90=198v. I did not say that the device was capable to operate at down to 198v but there's a good chance that it would be an accurate answer.
Remember one thing. If a motor is rated at 10HP at 220v it will draw a specific amount of amps to product 10HP. In doing so there will be losses in heat. Now reduce that voltage to 198v. To produce the same 10HP the motor would have to draw more amps to produce that same 10HP. More amps = more heating.
It is common that whem a motor is applied it never is required to produce its nameplate HP anyway.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,594 Are you busy
188,742 Re: Forum
178,450 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.028s Queries: 15 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9606 MB (Peak: 1.0937 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-19 09:40:25 UTC