ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Southwire SIM PULL cable #162790 04/25/07 05:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 44
B
boggerbutt2454 Offline OP
Member
We just pulled in about 5900' of 500 MCM that had Southwires new SIM PULL insulation. It was marked no lube, but at runs of 470' I wasn't taking any chance not using lube.

Has anyone else used this wire and if so what are your thoughts?

The Southwire rep. says they guarantee their product, but it will take a little getting use to before I give up using wire lube, especially when pulling big wire.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: boggerbutt2454] #162805 04/25/07 07:48 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
N
NJwirenut Offline
Member
I haven't used the stuff yet, but if the wire was clearly marked "No Lube", wouldn't using lube be a violation of 110-3(b)?

Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: NJwirenut] #162808 04/25/07 08:06 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,569
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
I would want to read the whole package when I intrepreted "no lub", looking for a violation. It might expand to "no lub necessary" in the literature instead of "do not lub".
I would still try it without the lub. Who knows, it might work better. Sometimes you just gotta believe the directions. wink


Greg Fretwell
Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: NJwirenut] #162809 04/25/07 08:11 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 159
C
CRW Offline
Member
I think just because the words "NO LUBE" are printed on the jacket, doesn't mean it's a violation to use lube. If they include literature or a UL listing that prohibits addtional lube, then well maybe. But can you imagine if you did a 500' pull of 500kcmil cables, w/o lube and about halfway it got stuck? Granted, you could try blaming the manufacturer, and try to get your money back somehow. But in the meantime you have a halfway done job that have to finish, which may involve pulling the cables back out, cutting in a box to splice in, whatever, all kinds of time consuming additional work, because you didn't use lube. I'd have to see it myself to be convinced, I wouldn't want to be the guy in charge of a big wire pull that goes wrong because of that new SIM PULL.

Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: CRW] #162851 04/26/07 07:45 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
G
ghost307 Offline
Member
Based on the cutsheet on their website, it states "may be installed without the need for pulling lubricant".
So you can glob on the lube if you want to without problems with the cables.

Now if the Specifications on the job (like for Hospital work) prohibit the use of lube on certain runs; that's a separate issue.


Ghost307
Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: ghost307] #162852 04/26/07 08:14 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 348
I
ITO Offline
Member
I wonder how it pulls without lube.


101° Rx = + /_\

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 186
Joined: November 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
275,535 Are you busy
209,427 Re: Forum
196,827 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3