ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,395 Are you busy
177,352 Re: Forum
168,962 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 52 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#162790 - 04/25/07 06:10 PM Southwire SIM PULL cable  
boggerbutt2454  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 44
Concord NC USA
We just pulled in about 5900' of 500 MCM that had Southwires new SIM PULL insulation. It was marked no lube, but at runs of 470' I wasn't taking any chance not using lube.

Has anyone else used this wire and if so what are your thoughts?

The Southwire rep. says they guarantee their product, but it will take a little getting use to before I give up using wire lube, especially when pulling big wire.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#162805 - 04/25/07 08:48 PM Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: boggerbutt2454]  
NJwirenut  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
Bergen County, NJ
I haven't used the stuff yet, but if the wire was clearly marked "No Lube", wouldn't using lube be a violation of 110-3(b)?


#162808 - 04/25/07 09:06 PM Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: NJwirenut]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,123
Estero,Fl,usa
I would want to read the whole package when I intrepreted "no lub", looking for a violation. It might expand to "no lub necessary" in the literature instead of "do not lub".
I would still try it without the lub. Who knows, it might work better. Sometimes you just gotta believe the directions. wink


Greg Fretwell

#162809 - 04/25/07 09:11 PM Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: NJwirenut]  
CRW  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 159
Bethlehem, PA USA
I think just because the words "NO LUBE" are printed on the jacket, doesn't mean it's a violation to use lube. If they include literature or a UL listing that prohibits addtional lube, then well maybe. But can you imagine if you did a 500' pull of 500kcmil cables, w/o lube and about halfway it got stuck? Granted, you could try blaming the manufacturer, and try to get your money back somehow. But in the meantime you have a halfway done job that have to finish, which may involve pulling the cables back out, cutting in a box to splice in, whatever, all kinds of time consuming additional work, because you didn't use lube. I'd have to see it myself to be convinced, I wouldn't want to be the guy in charge of a big wire pull that goes wrong because of that new SIM PULL.


#162851 - 04/26/07 08:45 AM Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: CRW]  
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 916
Chicago Illinois USA
Based on the cutsheet on their website, it states "may be installed without the need for pulling lubricant".
So you can glob on the lube if you want to without problems with the cables.

Now if the Specifications on the job (like for Hospital work) prohibit the use of lube on certain runs; that's a separate issue.


Ghost307

#162852 - 04/26/07 09:14 AM Re: Southwire SIM PULL cable [Re: ghost307]  
ITO  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 348
Texas
I wonder how it pulls without lube.


101° Rx = + /_\


Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7776 MB (Peak: 0.9274 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-19 16:28:45 UTC