ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:28 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:11 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 11/25/20 02:56 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 16 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Slipping conductors #160704 03/24/07 05:53 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
M
myklein Offline OP
Junior Member
Is there a code, I can't find it, that prohibits slipping new wires past existing wires in an existing conduit?

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein] #160706 03/24/07 06:37 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 16
T
tshea Offline
Member
No code violation unless you overfill the conduit. More of a mechanical problem. Good luck!

Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein] #160711 03/24/07 07:02 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,346
Trumpy Offline
Member
Hi there myklien,
Welcome to ECN, mate!. grin
Personally (coming from a guy in New Zealand) I'd avoid drawing cables into a conduit that carries existing cabling, for the reason that if you aren't careful you can burn the insulation off of the existing cables by friction, you can use all the lube you like, but at the end of the day, you still have to be careful.
Bends in the conduit are where the most problems arise.

Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein] #160771 03/25/07 04:01 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
Originally Posted by myklein
Is there a code, I can't find it, that prohibits slipping new wires past existing wires in an existing conduit?


No, not an NEC one.

We do it quite often but like anything some commonsense must be used. You can not expect to slide a few new conductors in a conduit that is already loaded. Or as Mike said a conduit that is full of bends.

Many times the best way is to choose one of the existing conductors and use it as a pull rope.

If I need two new conductors I will tie three onto an existing conductor and pull that one out to pull the new ones in.

Go slow, again for the reason Mike pointed out, friction could burn through a stationary conductor.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Slipping conductors [Re: iwire] #160801 03/25/07 11:27 PM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
M
myklein Offline OP
Junior Member
I'm a retired electrician, and have always advised against slipping wires because of the possibility of insulation burn. CalTrans California's Transportation entity has written in there standards wire is not to be slipped at any time.
I have seen it written into so many job specs that I thought it was also in the NEC.
Thank you to all that replied.

Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein] #160809 03/26/07 06:12 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
Armored cable (with braided wire armor) is great for this- the armor slides easily along other armored cables, and is very resistant to damage.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,972 Are you busy
205,861 Re: Forum
193,931 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3