ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by Yoopersup. 08/23/17 09:05 AM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,139 Are you busy
175,761 Re: Forum
167,952 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 91 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#160704 - 03/24/07 06:53 PM Slipping conductors  
myklein  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
California/Arizona
Is there a code, I can't find it, that prohibits slipping new wires past existing wires in an existing conduit?


Tools for Electricians:

#160706 - 03/24/07 07:37 PM Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein]  
tshea  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 16
racine, wi
No code violation unless you overfill the conduit. More of a mechanical problem. Good luck!


#160711 - 03/24/07 08:02 PM Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein]  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,217
SI,New Zealand
Hi there myklien,
Welcome to ECN, mate!. grin
Personally (coming from a guy in New Zealand) I'd avoid drawing cables into a conduit that carries existing cabling, for the reason that if you aren't careful you can burn the insulation off of the existing cables by friction, you can use all the lube you like, but at the end of the day, you still have to be careful.
Bends in the conduit are where the most problems arise.


Let's face it, these days if you're not young, you're old - Red Green grin

#160771 - 03/25/07 05:01 PM Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein]  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Originally Posted by myklein
Is there a code, I can't find it, that prohibits slipping new wires past existing wires in an existing conduit?


No, not an NEC one.

We do it quite often but like anything some commonsense must be used. You can not expect to slide a few new conductors in a conduit that is already loaded. Or as Mike said a conduit that is full of bends.

Many times the best way is to choose one of the existing conductors and use it as a pull rope.

If I need two new conductors I will tie three onto an existing conductor and pull that one out to pull the new ones in.

Go slow, again for the reason Mike pointed out, friction could burn through a stationary conductor.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#160801 - 03/26/07 12:27 AM Re: Slipping conductors [Re: iwire]  
myklein  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
California/Arizona
I'm a retired electrician, and have always advised against slipping wires because of the possibility of insulation burn. CalTrans California's Transportation entity has written in there standards wire is not to be slipped at any time.
I have seen it written into so many job specs that I thought it was also in the NEC.
Thank you to all that replied.


#160809 - 03/26/07 07:12 AM Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein]  
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,208
Chesapeake, VA
Armored cable (with braided wire armor) is great for this- the armor slides easily along other armored cables, and is very resistant to damage.



Member Spotlight
lil suzi
lil suzi
Midwest
Posts: 57
Joined: August 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.7772 MB (Peak: 0.9261 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 17:28:18 UTC