ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
sec cable code conflict
by HotLine1. 11/20/18 03:08 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:15 PM
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by Texas_Ranger. 11/17/18 02:07 PM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 27 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Slipping conductors #160704
03/24/07 05:53 PM
03/24/07 05:53 PM
M
myklein  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
California/Arizona
Is there a code, I can't find it, that prohibits slipping new wires past existing wires in an existing conduit?

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein] #160706
03/24/07 06:37 PM
03/24/07 06:37 PM
T
tshea  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 16
racine, wi
No code violation unless you overfill the conduit. More of a mechanical problem. Good luck!

Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein] #160711
03/24/07 07:02 PM
03/24/07 07:02 PM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,250
SI,New Zealand
Hi there myklien,
Welcome to ECN, mate!. grin
Personally (coming from a guy in New Zealand) I'd avoid drawing cables into a conduit that carries existing cabling, for the reason that if you aren't careful you can burn the insulation off of the existing cables by friction, you can use all the lube you like, but at the end of the day, you still have to be careful.
Bends in the conduit are where the most problems arise.

Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein] #160771
03/25/07 04:01 PM
03/25/07 04:01 PM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Originally Posted by myklein
Is there a code, I can't find it, that prohibits slipping new wires past existing wires in an existing conduit?


No, not an NEC one.

We do it quite often but like anything some commonsense must be used. You can not expect to slide a few new conductors in a conduit that is already loaded. Or as Mike said a conduit that is full of bends.

Many times the best way is to choose one of the existing conductors and use it as a pull rope.

If I need two new conductors I will tie three onto an existing conductor and pull that one out to pull the new ones in.

Go slow, again for the reason Mike pointed out, friction could burn through a stationary conductor.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Slipping conductors [Re: iwire] #160801
03/25/07 11:27 PM
03/25/07 11:27 PM
M
myklein  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
California/Arizona
I'm a retired electrician, and have always advised against slipping wires because of the possibility of insulation burn. CalTrans California's Transportation entity has written in there standards wire is not to be slipped at any time.
I have seen it written into so many job specs that I thought it was also in the NEC.
Thank you to all that replied.

Re: Slipping conductors [Re: myklein] #160809
03/26/07 06:12 AM
03/26/07 06:12 AM
S
SteveFehr  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
Chesapeake, VA
Armored cable (with braided wire armor) is great for this- the armor slides easily along other armored cables, and is very resistant to damage.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 803
Joined: October 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 7
Popular Topics(Views)
251,645 Are you busy
188,777 Re: Forum
178,497 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9770 MB (Peak: 1.1273 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-21 00:13:21 UTC