ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 274 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#157571 12/01/05 10:42 AM
J
jr4wire Offline OP
I am an electrical contractor in the Franklin, MA area. I get together with a few other contractors to discuss various topics, such as the topics on this site. We all complain about "handymen" and such, but when I bring up the question of hourly rate I receive five different rates, there are only five of us there. This shows me that the key is to educate newer contractors as to the cost of doing business and the difference between being an "employee" of yourself and a business owner. Does anyone have anything to add to this subject?

Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
#157572 12/01/05 01:39 PM
M
Only that you are on the right trail. There are also other pitfalls for contracting besides just the undercharging issue however. Many times I read postings where some think that just "properly charging for the work" is the answer to everything. I would add that careful bidding is also a large factor, as is knowing when to back away from a disaster job before you start.

#157573 12/01/05 07:12 PM
L
LK Offline
"the key is to educate newer contractors as to the cost of doing business and the difference between being an "employee" of yourself and a business owner."