ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/22/20 12:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1575 05/16/01 11:05 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 123
D
doc Offline OP
Member
am working as a maint worker for large company someone else has the headaches now.
They have hired a journeyman elec. so he tells me how to do wiring,and now i just shake my head at some of the things these guys are doing at least now my fat is not on the burner,but it makes me shake my head when he and the boss had me run 6 hot wires and 6 grounded conductors in conduit and then at each j-box they had me cut them into and wire nutted them back together Is that legal guess it is ? Is it neat and safe and in a workman like manner guess it is ? I do not think so ,Does it make a bit of since to cut a perfectly fine wire into and wire nut it back together at every 50 ft. which then made a total of 5 splices in it ? or tell, me that raised outlet cover plates do not have to have a ground wire.
THESE are most likely the same type of people that are running neutrals out of different panels,but yet I am the stupid one ha ha


MAY THE SUN SHINE ON YOUR FACE IN THE MORNING AND YOU AWAKE WITH A SMILE
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1576 05/17/01 12:06 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 85
C
CanadianSparky Offline
Member
Only thing I can see is it makes it easier to cut into the circuit at a later date. Guess you could've just left loops though too.

Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1577 05/17/01 02:18 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,961
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
I'm with you CanadianSparky.
I would have left loops.

[Linked Image]
Bill


Bill
Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1578 05/17/01 06:51 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
Each wire now becomes 2 as far as box fill goes. It seems better to leave a loop just in case you needed to tap into it at at later date. This way you may have spare box volume if needed for new wires.

Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1579 05/17/01 07:53 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
I hope you've got big boxes and small wires!! You've already got 24 wires in each box. The service loops are the way to go, but even at that, they're pushing it here. (ie., 12-#12 in 4Sdeep would only leave room for 1 more conductor...maybe a ground?)

Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1580 05/17/01 06:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 127
G
gpowellpec Offline
Member
When you guys say loop do you mean a 360 degree loop? I try not to have a full loop in spare conductor because that creates a 1 turn inductor. Could create some choking effect to slow down an overcurrent device in event of short circuit. The loop will also try to increase its diameter if large currents run through it. That may cause violent motion that could damage its insulation, pull loose a connection, or damage something else.

Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1581 05/17/01 11:20 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
I've heard that leaving a long extension cord in a coil (on a spool or loose) can drop the voltage more (and burn up your new drill!) than if it were stretched out straight, do to the same effect...

Is this right? I tried to measure the difference once but couldn't determine anything positively...

Would having both poles in the coil (cable) reduce this effect?

[This message has been edited by sparky66wv (edited 05-17-2001).]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1582 05/17/01 11:33 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
I was thinking they meant loop like a drip loop, not a circle, just enough slack to cut and splice it later.

Yes, a circle would not be good in a single conductor.

Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1583 05/18/01 12:58 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 85
C
CanadianSparky Offline
Member
Im sorry to ask, but I am Canadian and all. Whats a raised outlet cover plate? I'm thinking its a "mud ring for a 4x4 box." And if thats what it is I've never grounded one and would like to know why I have to. Thanks, just wondering.

Re: MADE ME SHAKE MY HEAD #1584 05/18/01 07:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,283
electure Offline
Member
C Sparky,
These are also referred to as "industrial covers". They are the raised cover that a device (recp in this case) screws to the backside of. Used for surface work. They're not approved for grounding path. In the case of duplex recps, they should have holes and screws for the device to be mounted by the yoke,and not just the screw meant to hold on a cover plate.
By loop, I believe we all meant a piece of wire long enough to be cut and spliced into later, not a little "coil" in the box.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,731 Are you busy
204,964 Re: Forum
193,077 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3