ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Kichler Lighting Recalls Pendant Lights
by Admin - 09/18/19 08:47 PM
Does a 'normal 3ph-AC motor' include capacitors?
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:20 AM
Another weird NEC code question on Feeder Taps
by gfretwell - 09/18/19 01:14 AM
NEC 2017_392.22(B)(1)(b)
_What's the smallest width

by Bill Addiss - 09/17/19 07:13 PM
NEC Question_Cord-&-Plug EGC shorter then Neutral
by pcsailor - 09/16/19 05:26 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Admin, gfretwell), 11 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
first house to wire #155609 01/18/05 12:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
S
sid123456 Offline OP
Member
I just got my first call for a house to wire. It's a remodel with bare
studs and ceiling, just like a new home. I dont really know how to
price it. The house is 1648 sq ft. It needs a new service too (200 amp). The we aggreed on 3500, but above and beyond that it includes 6 phone outlets, 3 recessed cans, 6 dimmers ( 3 that are 3 ways), and 2
outside lights. I think it will take a day to rough and a day to trim. I starting to think twice about this price. I was hoping to get some feedback on this.

Sid in Atlanta, Georgia

Business, Office, Estimating, Legal:
Re: first house to wire #155610 01/18/05 01:33 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 558
G
ga.sparky56 Offline
Member
Hi Sid.

I'm about 100 mi. north of you.

Maybe Electric Eagle can give you an idea about that price. He's in the Atlanta area.

That would be a little low up here,but then again I couldn't rough it in a day,nor trim it and build the service in a day.

Russell

Re: first house to wire #155611 01/18/05 02:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
3500 Is that american dollars?
[Linked Image] That is way way way too low. Also you are way off on the time you will need for the work.
I'm at $6500.00 just quickly adding in my head.

[This message has been edited by Electricmanscott (edited 01-18-2005).]

Re: first house to wire #155612 01/18/05 08:41 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
E
Electric Eagle Offline
Member
Hello Sid,
I'm in Alpharetta. We would be probably $6000 - $7000 or more for that house. We also probably would not get the job, but we would lose money at your price. Are you supply materials? How many people do you have helping you? If you're doing the work yourself and don't have any overhead, you won't lose money, but you'll barely make wages. Also keep in mind that old wood is very hard to drill.

My input may be skewed a little because I haven't seen the house and we mainly work on heavily wired custom jobs. If this is minimaly wired, you may be OK. Email me if you like, I'll be glad to give you any help I can. Also, if you want some sub work, I could talk to you about that too.

Re: first house to wire #155613 01/18/05 09:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 86
P
Physis Offline
Member
I remeber my first house. It was sort of intimidating. I have always itemized each of the outlets (that's lights too) and I apply a standard cost to them. If they're atypical they get special consideration. Subtract the standard stuff from the job and what's left you can break down into hours and materials.

There's no mention of the kitchen. There's a lot of cost in there.

I agree you're to low.


Sam, San Francisco Bay Area
Re: first house to wire #155614 01/18/05 10:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 55
E
eswets Offline
Member
Whats the average hourly rate out there?

Re: first house to wire #155615 01/19/05 01:31 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
DougW Offline
Member
How big is your crew?

I assume you're in a pipe-free area [Linked Image] (unlike Chicago, conduit capitol of the free world [Linked Image] )

How'd you arrive at your number?

Re: first house to wire #155616 01/19/05 01:22 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
J
jbfan Offline
Member
Sid that does seem low. I do basements that cost almost that much just south of you. Like was asked, how many people do you have to rough this thing in a day?


"Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years to late" Jimmy Buffett
Re: first house to wire #155617 01/19/05 01:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
S
sid123456 Offline OP
Member
there's 2 of us.

Re: first house to wire #155618 01/19/05 03:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
D
Dnkldorf Offline
Member
sid, here in Pa, I use $4.25 sq/ft as a start.
That's for the basics. No High hats, no dimmers, nothing special. That includes the service, switches and receps and light boxes in all rooms. From there I go up.

telephone= 55 each
cable= 55 each
High hats= 75 each, standard 6" white
and so on and so on....

The extras is where you make your most money.

good luck......

(one more thing, customer will supply all fixtures)

[This message has been edited by Dnkldorf (edited 01-19-2005).]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,923
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 6
Popular Topics(Views)
258,626 Are you busy
194,220 Re: Forum
183,690 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3