ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
12 Lead Motor Connection Weird
by emolatur - 01/19/22 02:40 PM
Any women electricians here?
by gfretwell - 01/17/22 01:44 PM
Well There's your problem.
by gfretwell - 01/08/22 12:17 AM
Happy New Year!!
by HotLine1 - 01/04/22 09:50 AM
Sangamo s309.2
by Robski - 12/31/21 04:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 48 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#154539 03/13/07 04:02 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
B
big guy Offline OP
Member
HI
I am working on town homes and would like to know if the opening on a 1099 allied box should be sealed in a fire wall.

1099 boxs are 2hr rated but ones you put wires in the box there will be a open area around the wire.

If I do need to seal this box could I get the info that says that I have to do this.

thanks
matt

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#154540 03/13/07 10:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,677
Likes: 9
G
Member
If I read this right you need a putty pad to establish the fire rating


Greg Fretwell
#154541 03/14/07 06:12 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
Member
It sounds to me from that listing like the putty pads are only required if you don't meet the minimum separation of boxes. Am I reading that wrong?

The UL listing mentions several times that the gap between the box and the wall must be less than 1/8"- sounds to me like it's implying that some gaps less than 1/8" are acceptable, and cable entries may not need any special sealing.

#154542 03/14/07 01:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,677
Likes: 9
G
Member
Yes you are right Steve. The joys of fire rated assemblies ;(

I was reading the wrong assembly description.


Greg Fretwell
#154543 03/14/07 03:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 59
B
big guy Offline OP
Member
I found it. thanks for the help


http://www.alliedmoulded.com/outlet_fireFAQ.cfm

#154544 03/18/07 11:52 AM
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
M
Member
if you install 2 boxes in the same stud space of a dimizing wall-- one in "townhome a" and the other in "townhome b" then you would need putty pads for sure. as long as there's only one box in each stud space you shouldn't. at least that's how it's done in washington d.c. is that how everyone else sees it?


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
Robski 1
Popular Topics(Views)
288,168 Are you busy
220,239 Re: Forum
206,230 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5