ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by gfretwell - 07/28/21 10:06 PM
Lowes Selling this fan
by timmp - 07/25/21 10:58 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by djk - 07/23/21 09:13 PM
Do You Travel?
by Bill Addiss - 07/20/21 04:26 PM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 07/18/21 12:20 PM
New in the Gallery:
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Red Green would be proud
Red Green would be proud
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 9 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#129262 12/06/04 11:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
B
Junior Member
A Client of mine, a nation wide T.V. Cable Company brought me out to a site to check for voltage on the interior RG-6 Coax Cable.
(2)Two apartment complexes have the similar problem out of (10) complexes.
Each complex has a (12) twelve combo meter panel. The sub feeds to each apartment are in romex or service entrance cable, that run down a rafter bay.
We think the RG-6 shares the same rafter bay.
I am reading any where from 18volts to 45 volts to ground with a simpson 260 sieries 8P meter on the shields & cores of the RG-6 when isolated from the incoming service.
The shields are bonded to the main service U-Fer ground during nomal operations.
Apparently it is effecting the High Speed Internet modems. The complex is about 15 years old and the problem had only been revealed with the increased customer High Speed Connections.
Any sugestions appreciated.
Bartlett Electric Inc.

#129263 12/29/04 04:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,407
Likes: 2
Member
Gidday there,
This problem definitely sounds like an induced voltage problem.
It sounds like the coaxial cables have been installed very close to the Mains wiring.
I'd recommend that the coaxial cables be segregated from the Mains wiring by at least 3ft.
Let us know how you get on. [Linked Image]

Mike :}

#129264 12/30/04 12:03 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
Member
Are you sure all of the coax shields are bonded? If there are bonded at the building entrance, the only voltage you should see would be the result of voltage drop from current flowing in the shield. I doubt if you have this much current. I'd be checking for poorly installed coax connectors that did not maintain shield continunity.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 8
Rachel 4
djk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
281,578 Are you busy
215,216 Re: Forum
202,053 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5