ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Lock-down Thread
by Bill Addiss - 02/27/21 01:16 PM
Northern Tool Recalls Powerhorse Generators
by Admin - 02/25/21 09:49 PM
You will never guess
by gfretwell - 02/25/21 07:48 PM
New tool
by SMOKEYBOB - 02/15/21 04:59 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 20 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Transformer Conduit #124992 01/23/07 09:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,636
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
Quote
This is a 4 in PVC conduit that originates in a 1600A 480/277V 3 phase fused switchgear and feeds a single phase transformer. The transformer feeds a 240/120V 3 phase 800A breaker panel. The 4" PVC contains (3)350MCM conductors. The primary is fused @400A. This was installed in Nov. of '06. Check out the reducer to 3" where it turns into alum flex.

Fred White
Amptech Electric
[Linked Image]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Transformer Conduit #124993 01/24/07 04:59 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
I don't have a problem with the reducer.

I do see issues of lack of support.

A building inspector might also have a problem with taking out that large chunk of perlin.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Transformer Conduit #124994 01/24/07 08:09 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,233
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Ditto on Iwire's comments.
Also, looks like a dusty/dirty enviro, basrd on the top of the xfr case.
A red sticker....support
John


John
Re: Transformer Conduit #124995 01/24/07 08:24 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 251
W
WESTUPLACE Offline
Member
Maybe I missed something. Single Phase transformer feeding a 800 A 3 phase panel? If it is a 3 phase panel and only has 3 conductors where is the EGC. (remember, PVC feed) Robert.

Re: Transformer Conduit #124996 01/24/07 10:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
This install fits in the "close, but no cigar" category.

Using the flex, I see no need for the 45 before the 90. Hence, no need to take that chunk out of the structural steel.

(There's a time, place, and method to cutting structural steel ... but this is not it!)

I'd like to see some support for that flex as well.

A few other notes:

Even were the conduit steel, a ground wire is necessary. A neutral is not (on the feed side).

For the life of me, I cannot imagine a situation where you would NOT want a neutral to the secondary panel.

I do hope there's a main breaker in that panel.

I do hope the transformer is grounded, including on the secondary side. Grounded both with a wire back to the GEC, as well as to that structural steel.

Likewise, the neutral buss ought NOT be bonded to the case ... your 'bond' is at the transformer.

Now ... into "forbidden territory." While the NEC has information as to sizing conductors and breakers, I've never seen an inspector check them. This job has enough signs of a well-intentioned, but unqualified, job that those decisions ought to be reviewed.

I also agree; a three phase panel fed by a single phase transformer is a worry. I consider it a technical violation of code (look at the panel listing).

Re: Transformer Conduit #124997 01/24/07 02:47 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Fred Offline
Member
No, there is not a main breaker in the panel. What you see just to the right of the transformer is a 400A fused disconnect which is just ahead of the 800A MLO circuit breaker panel. It contains (4) 200A breakers that feed other panels throughout the building as well as 20A 2 pole breakers that feed MH lighting. This electrical work was done by an EC hired by the building owner. I was hired by the tenant to install conduit/conductors and connect their equipment. I will get more pics tomorrow to give everyone a better overview of this situation.

Re: Transformer Conduit #124998 01/24/07 07:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Thanks for the correction, Fred.

EC or not, I still think he could have done better.

Re: Transformer Conduit #124999 01/26/07 08:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 360
T
Trainwire Offline
Member
Pardon my ignorance.

I don't often work with this type of installation, and when I do it's under someone else.

That piece of pipe from the reducer to the transformer case looks all the world like a piece of flex exhuast pipe stuffed into a BX connector.

In all of my wanderings around the local warehouses I personally have never seen that style of conduit. I'm not saying there isn't,just I've never seen it.

It looks like someone cut the outer jacket off of a piece of metalic flex.

You have to give the installer a few points for creativity though.

TW

Never underestimate the perversity of an inanimate object.

Re: Transformer Conduit #125000 01/27/07 11:07 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 391
B
BigJohn Offline
Member
Trainwire,

That stuff is legitimate. It's called flexible metallic conduit in the Code or Greenfield or "flex" in the real-world. It's very often used in short lenghts to make connections to equipment that vibrates, such as motors or transformers.

It's funny this should come up, because I was wondering about this practice the other day: Does anyone have any negative experience with non-flexible conduit being connected to transformers? The vibration is so slight that I have to question if FMC is even necessary. Especially since in many cases the pieces are of such a large diameter, and so short, that they aren't technically very flexible at all, and do very little to dampen the vibration of the tranny.

-John

Re: Transformer Conduit #125001 01/27/07 01:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Using flex for that final bit is a trade practice. One of those habits we get into....

The last few transformers I have installed have had the cores suspended inside, not rigidly attached to the case. With that sort of construction, it is likely that things will be just fine without that bit of flex. At least from a vibration point of view.

I still like having some flex in there. If nothing else, it allows for the unforeseen complications ... like the transformer being replaced, or shifting when a forklift bumps it, etc.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
pcsailor
pcsailor
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Posts: 21
Joined: September 2019
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
MCosta 3
Popular Topics(Views)
275,432 Are you busy
209,320 Re: Forum
196,607 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3