ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
FPE in Germany
by andey - 10/14/19 10:14 AM
Fuse blower plug?
by gfretwell - 10/13/19 03:23 PM
Power factor and transformer efficiency
by TeslaEdison - 10/13/19 04:05 AM
Help with aging employee advice.
by gfretwell - 10/12/19 01:17 PM
Permit Snafus...AHJs and Contractors Jump in
by HotLine1 - 10/10/19 07:35 AM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 5 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123278 03/14/06 12:25 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,587
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
Quote
Here I would like to pose the design issue of" Just how big do you let the refrigerator get before you think it's wise to separate it from the other kitchen circuits, and give it it's own?

- renosteinke
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Tools for Electricians:
Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123279 03/14/06 01:04 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 350
M
mbhydro Offline
Member
Code in Canada is refrigerator must be on its own dedicated circuit that may be shared with a clock receptacle.

Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123280 03/14/06 01:40 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
F
frenchelectrican Offline
Member
for the fridgaires i rather run it on it own circuit sans gfci and ya never know the owner will swap out to even bigger unit it will draw a bit of current there just like commercal verison do.


Merci, Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123281 03/15/06 12:38 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
I have seen some pretty big refers that only draw 4 amps or so. In this case size does not necesarily matter.

Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123282 03/16/06 01:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
G
guppyplayer Offline
Junior Member
Hey Everyone- Unless i am working on a small kitchen.. i usually install the two required circuits.. and then install a dedicated circuit for the fridge. A microwave either countertop or rangetop sometimes will be connected on the same circuit making things pretty "close" i am one to be pretty generous with kitchen circuits.. because from experience thats usually the room that uses the most power and trips the most breakers.

Referring to the refers themselves i am not just worried about the running amps.. but the amps they pull when they first start up.. those compressor can get some strong head pressure on them sometimes. so i always feel better putting them on their own 20 amp circuit.. especially to isolate them from GFCI's

Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123283 03/16/06 03:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
S
sierra electrician Offline
Member
I usually run a separate ckt for the fridge.
1. So nothing else can trip this ckt and destroy your grocery's.
2. So it can be easily sepatated for a Generator application.

Rob

Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123284 03/16/06 03:48 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 402
J
jdevlin Offline
Member
I don't think you even share it with a clock receptacle in Ontario.

Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123285 03/17/06 12:21 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 288
Y
yaktx Offline
Member
The nameplate on most fridges is not more than 7.2A. That is the sum of the defrost elements, and all interior lights. Compressors do not run at the same time as defrost elements.

Most residential built-ins, even the huge ones, are not much greater of a load (and how often do you have fridge and freezer open at the same time anyway?

If the nameplate is 10A or more, that's 50% of circuit ampacity, therefore, an individual branch circuit is required. (210.23(A)(2), 2002 NEC, although that only applies to equipment fastened in place, which this appears to be). I don't recall ever seeing this on a domestic fridge, but they may be out there.

It is always the better practice to give the fridge its own circuit. In my area, it's local code as well.

Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123286 03/17/06 07:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
yaktx,

Quote
It is always the better practice to give the fridge its own circuit.


If this were phrased as a question the answer would be false.

You also contradict your own logic with your statement because in most cases the fridge is not fastened in place. Your code refrence would not apply which you actually point out.


[This message has been edited by Electricmanscott (edited 03-17-2006).]

Re: Kitchen Fridge Circuit? #123287 03/22/06 10:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 66
C
cpalm1 Offline
Member
many of those large fridges have two compressors. I mave an older model sub-zero dual compressor side by side unit. its nameplate says 12 amps. I have a single 20 amp circuit for my kitchen and part of the living room. ive only tripped the breaker about 2 time in the 10+ years ive had the fridge and it was from running way to many appliances at the same time. Im guessing it is a rare event that all of the circumstances come together where the fridge actually draws 12 amps. i bet it is drawing less than 6 most of the time

When i bought the fridge i was going to run a dedicated circuit untill i discovered the conduit and boxes were already overfilled. running new consuit would have required major demolition. i just decided to plug it in and hope for the best. after finding out that i works just fine, im glad i didn't do the major demolition for the new circuit. however for new construction, i would definitly want such a big fridge on its own circuit.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 10
Popular Topics(Views)
259,506 Are you busy
194,890 Re: Forum
184,329 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3