ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
Wire sizing
by watersparkfalls - 10/19/21 07:27 AM
nec 110.3 (B)
by watersparkfalls - 10/19/21 07:09 AM
A 5-20(20a) receptacle is legal on a 15a circuit?
by libellis - 10/10/21 12:46 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 22 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#120894 05/19/05 11:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,666
Likes: 2
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
Quote
And the neutral is spliced to a #6 THHN tail. The homeowner said they would upgrade, but couldn't afford it right now. I changed the breaker to a 100 amp and spliced on a # 4 for the neutral. They claimed to have had the house inspected when they bought it a year ago, but I don't know any inspectors that could have missed this. Also the gfi in the back yard( 10ft. from the pool) was miswired to the load and when i pressed the test button, it still had 120 volts.

- richard
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 394
B
Member
Doesn't look too bad with the cover on - save for the "temporary" power strip screwed to the wall. Since the insulation is stripped back so far on the breakers, you get a good look at the conductors. The lower wire on the top twin 20 sure looks like it could be aluminum. In a word - UGLY

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
L
Member
Whats with the white wire on the twin breaker in the 2nd pic? 240v to the breaker under it? Do they make a handle tie for this 8^) Rod

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
L
Member
It looks like a GFCI breaker with no load conductors to me.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
Isn't the GFCI wired with the LINE conductors coming into the LOAD terminals?

That might be a problem...

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 22
X
Member
is that 200A panel used as a sub panel? what i mean is, is the 2 aluminum fused some were else in line.

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 99
Member
the meter is on the other side of the wall, the 200 amp breaker was the first disconnect


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
timmp
timmp
Leo, IN, USA
Posts: 28
Joined: June 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 6
Popular Topics(Views)
284,721 Are you busy
217,347 Re: Forum
203,699 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5