ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Whirlpool Recalls KitchenAid Electric Kettles
by Admin. 02/22/18 11:35 AM
Safest socket system for wet pottery studio?
by Jules69. 02/21/18 05:12 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 02/21/18 10:22 AM
110.26
by gfretwell. 02/18/18 12:14 AM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
transformer grounding #11457
07/13/02 12:29 AM
07/13/02 12:29 AM
E
Eandrew  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 68
seattle, wa, usa
when is transformer grounded like a service? I mean, when would you have a double barrel lug on xo with both a ground and nuetral terminated on it.

Transformers in electrical rooms I've worked on (eg:90kva) 480/277 stepdown to 208/120 did not have the ground tie in with the neutral. However, I've seen temp skids and certain roof top transformers with had the ground go through a grounding bushing then to the frame of the trans. and then up to the neutral terminal (xo) along with the nuetral.

Is this done if lighting strike are a concern?like on a roof? or an outdoor temp skid. service ground VS equipment ground.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: transformer grounding #11458
07/13/02 06:14 PM
07/13/02 06:14 PM
E
electric-ed  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 175
Canada
If the transformer is supplying a system that is required to be grounded (one that has a neutral conductor), the grounding electrode conductor (GEC) can be connected to the neutral either at the transformer XO terminal, or at the neutral buss of the first switch controlling the system.

Ed

Re: transformer grounding #11459
07/14/02 01:35 PM
07/14/02 01:35 PM
E
Eandrew  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 68
seattle, wa, usa
Thanks Ed.

So its an optional thing. I wonder if there is an advantage of grounding the neutral at the transformer versus the first disconnecting means.

Re: transformer grounding #11460
07/15/02 09:44 AM
07/15/02 09:44 AM
T
The Watt Doctor  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 435
Mont Belvieu, TX
Ed is correct. I would just add on thing. Have a look at 250.30 (A)(1) in the 2002 code. It states that "...it shall be made at the source of a seperately derived system that has no disconnecting means or overcurrent devices." If you are feeding a panel that doesn't have a disconnecting means, you must leave the "strap" (bonding jumper) in it that comes from the factory, or put one in it if it doesn't have one. I've never seen a wye type transformer that didn't come with a factory bonding jumper. If your panel has a disconnecting means, and you want to bond the neutral at the panel, it is perfectly legal, but most installations that I've seen, and done, have the bond on the secondary side of the transformer. My reasoning, you may ask? I figured, why should I remove, and replace something that the "factory" has done for me. I couldn't tell you if there are any advantages or not. I will say this, "If you have a factory installed bonding jumper that aint broke, then don't fix it."

I've been truely transformed,
Doc


The Watt Doctor
Altura Cogen
Channelview, TX

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 9
Popular Topics(Views)
244,062 Are you busy
181,052 Re: Forum
171,293 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9587 MB (Peak: 1.0895 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-02-23 06:26:11 UTC