ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
Questioning the electrical norms
by gfretwell - 09/13/20 01:17 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
Lock-down Thread
by Trumpy - 09/11/20 11:17 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 17 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
transformer grounding #11457 07/13/02 01:29 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 68
E
Eandrew Offline OP
Member
when is transformer grounded like a service? I mean, when would you have a double barrel lug on xo with both a ground and nuetral terminated on it.

Transformers in electrical rooms I've worked on (eg:90kva) 480/277 stepdown to 208/120 did not have the ground tie in with the neutral. However, I've seen temp skids and certain roof top transformers with had the ground go through a grounding bushing then to the frame of the trans. and then up to the neutral terminal (xo) along with the nuetral.

Is this done if lighting strike are a concern?like on a roof? or an outdoor temp skid. service ground VS equipment ground.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: transformer grounding #11458 07/13/02 07:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 175
E
electric-ed Offline
Member
If the transformer is supplying a system that is required to be grounded (one that has a neutral conductor), the grounding electrode conductor (GEC) can be connected to the neutral either at the transformer XO terminal, or at the neutral buss of the first switch controlling the system.

Ed

Re: transformer grounding #11459 07/14/02 02:35 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 68
E
Eandrew Offline OP
Member
Thanks Ed.

So its an optional thing. I wonder if there is an advantage of grounding the neutral at the transformer versus the first disconnecting means.

Re: transformer grounding #11460 07/15/02 10:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 437
The Watt Doctor Offline
Member
Ed is correct. I would just add on thing. Have a look at 250.30 (A)(1) in the 2002 code. It states that "...it shall be made at the source of a seperately derived system that has no disconnecting means or overcurrent devices." If you are feeding a panel that doesn't have a disconnecting means, you must leave the "strap" (bonding jumper) in it that comes from the factory, or put one in it if it doesn't have one. I've never seen a wye type transformer that didn't come with a factory bonding jumper. If your panel has a disconnecting means, and you want to bond the neutral at the panel, it is perfectly legal, but most installations that I've seen, and done, have the bond on the secondary side of the transformer. My reasoning, you may ask? I figured, why should I remove, and replace something that the "factory" has done for me. I couldn't tell you if there are any advantages or not. I will say this, "If you have a factory installed bonding jumper that aint broke, then don't fix it."

I've been truely transformed,
Doc


The Watt Doctor
Altura Cogen
Channelview, TX

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
JoeKP
JoeKP
Berkley, MA
Posts: 144
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,922 Are you busy
204,353 Re: Forum
192,572 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3