ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#112184 04/22/01 10:49 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,682
Likes: 3
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
[Linked Image]
Submitted by S. Wilson (electure)


The tenants in this bldg. mentioned that they were pleased to see that someone installed barricades to protect their forklift chargers. (There was another one right up against that tranny, but they moved it so I could get to the trans... & verify that it was cooked!)

S.Wilson

#112185 04/22/01 12:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Tom Offline
Member
Ahh, one of my favorite violations.

Working clearance? We don't need no stinking working clearance.

Besides working clearance (mainly for the panel & safety switch), was there adequate ventilation clearance for the transformer? Most of the ones I've dealt with required 6" of clearance on the backside.

Tom

[This message has been edited by Tom (edited 04-22-2001).]


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
#112186 04/22/01 02:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,116
Likes: 4
Member
Tom,

You're reading my mind!
That transformer looks like it's right up against the wall.


electrure,

What was the reason for failure? Any ideas?

Bill


Bill
#112187 04/23/01 08:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,294
Member
The trans was blocked on 3 sides (that's a sheet of plywood) but did have 6" in back.
The old one was scrapped before I had a chance to check it out. The 90 A primary C/B was tripped. When I tried to reset it, it took out the GFI for the building. When replaced, the secondary load was less than 100A It's a 75 KVA with 200A Main in Load Center. Any ideas??? (that's smoke on the wall)

[This message has been edited by electure (edited 04-23-2001).]

#112188 04/25/01 06:27 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
Member
electure;
fried primary, dead short ? better a main GFI that the entire punch going to the prim CB !

[Linked Image]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5