ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 6
doc 3
Recent Posts
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
239,955 Are you busy
175,546 Re: Forum
167,799 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 55 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#111700 - 02/03/07 07:56 AM Dual Element Fuse  
electure  Offline


Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,260
Fullerton, CA USA
A winner from P38J

Quote
Here's an interesting find while troubleshooting a brake press.

It was one of those "and what is this"? I pulled the fuse and read it .... an FNQ-R3 was supposed to be installed, a TRM-7 was soldered to the blown 3a.
It truly is interesting what some will do. I wonder where the burnt wire is now?
(Sorry, the pic of the fuse installed didn't come out.)



[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]




[This message has been edited by electure (edited 02-08-2007).]


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#111701 - 02/05/07 01:17 AM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
Lostazhell  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Or...
Was this someone attempting a 10A fuse? [Linked Image]


#111702 - 02/05/07 05:51 PM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
P38J  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 8
Arlington, WA.
No, I dont think they were trying for a 10a fuse. I think they blew the 3a and didn't have one. "But hey, we got a 7a we can solder together and at least make it work". (until the wires burn up)


#111703 - 02/05/07 07:35 PM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
frenchelectrican  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 939
Wi/ Paris France { France for ...
jezzz now that is very instering idea but very dangerous to do that.

i am sure the heat from soildering can weaken the fuse link inside some way also when they put that goofy fuse back in the disconnection switch they are endangering pretty good there.

i know some 30A fused disconnection switch don't have much room at all and can get flashover if not carefull there


Merci , Marc


Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)


#111704 - 02/05/07 09:59 PM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
Lostazhell  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,431
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Or...
P38J,
I thought of that as well, but then these fuses are the same size (physically) IIRC, so why go through the trouble of this instead of just popping the 7A in the fuseholder? [Linked Image]


#111705 - 02/06/07 12:38 AM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
NORCAL  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 872
"so why go through the trouble of this instead of just popping the 7A in the fuseholder? "


If you look closely, the 3 A. fuse is a rejection type, so its likely its not going to fit plus the FNQ fuse is more costly so never underestimate a cheapskate.


#111706 - 02/07/07 08:57 PM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
HLCbuild  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 209
Herndon,Va USA
I'm surprised that they didn't have a 3 amp gum wrapper!


#111707 - 02/09/07 09:21 PM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
Trumpy  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,217
SI,New Zealand
I'd be amazed if that conglomeration actually stayed together with carrying current.
Soft-soldering has a eutectic temperature of 332C, above that, this arrangement would fall to pieces.
It only has to get hot on one side mind you.
A very poor implementation of basic fusing rules.
What sort of a clown would even attempt this, let alone think that it complies with the laws of electricity.
Kirchoff's law would tell you that there is no way that this could work.
Anyone beg to differ?.


Let's face it, these days if you're not young, you're old - Red Green grin

#111708 - 02/09/07 11:20 PM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
yaktx  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 288
Austin, Texas, USA
Perfect example of a little knowledge (not to mention creativity) being dangerous.


#111709 - 02/10/07 08:40 PM Re: Dual Element Fuse  
n1ist  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 183
Malden MA
I bet the 3A one is blown, and this was a "quick fix" way of getting things running. I'm sure they planned to put the correct fuse in right away and it stayed in there until now.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8188 MB (Peak: 0.9936 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-19 20:34:51 UTC