ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/22/20 12:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
USE Cable - No Conduit! #109255 10/09/01 04:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,631
Admin Offline OP
Administrator
Member
[Linked Image]
Quote
Another example of why a licensed electrician should be required to do anything more than changing a light bulb.

Thanks,
Kevin Duke

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109256 10/09/01 06:41 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
swwweeet !

Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109257 10/10/01 08:29 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline
Member
WOW!!

Where is this?

Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109258 10/10/01 01:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,961
Bill Addiss Offline
Member
Thanks Kevin!

Does anyone still use meterpans like this in their areas for new installs?

Our Utility (Lipa - was Lilco) has required us to use 200A OH/UG meterpans w/manual bypass. We have to use the same for 100, 150, or 200A. I notice that our pans (or cans by you?) have the neutral connection out of the 'drip zone'(center) and on the side. I think that was a very good design change and was wondering if others had that feature?


Bill


Bill
Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109259 10/10/01 03:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 18
K
kduke Offline
Member
This was an existing SE built with 200 amp (2/0 cu) line side and 100 amp SEC load side of the meter socket. The customer (I work for Alliant Energy in SE Iowa)wanted to upgrade to a 200 amp load panel and do it himself, since an electrician costs too much. Using a licensed electrician would have saved him money in the end. New meter sockets in our area now require horned bypass on residential, and a lever bypass on commercial.


kduke
Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109260 10/11/01 11:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 597
E
ElectricAL Offline
Member
In central Minnesota Xcel Energy (formerly Northern States Power) requires a manual bypass in all meter sockets (here it's a "socket") whether residential or commercial. In the generic single phase configuration, the neutral is directly under the hub location.

Al


Al Hildenbrand
Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109261 11/02/01 02:21 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 142
B
bordew Offline
Member
Bill
We still use those but we usually put a cover on them, and are required to bond the service Panel. The ones with c/o are reserved for commercial.
I have seen some schlocck installations but this has got to be a classicc.

Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109262 11/06/01 10:23 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 273
C
circuit man Offline
Member
talk about dangerous! one wrong move with a mower,"KERBOOM". did the power company actually hook this up?

Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109263 12/30/01 11:03 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 52
K
KJ Offline
Junior Member
just wondering when they allowed tape, tywraps, and telephone wires to be adequate support and protection for conductors...

Re: USE Cable - No Conduit! #109264 02/18/02 05:43 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 6
H
Hookman Offline
Junior Member
CONDUIT!!! we don't need no stinkin conduit. man that is an original. goin to have to show that to my new class as what not to ever do.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,742 Are you busy
204,967 Re: Forum
193,085 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3