ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
Siemens breakers
by gfretwell - 09/23/22 01:45 PM
What do you look like?II
by HotLine1 - 09/22/22 12:33 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 38 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#10546 06/14/02 10:06 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 3
M
Junior Member
Hi guys i love this site superb mature super guys anyway i have a sears 3 h.p air compressor that wont start under load? you can uncouple the belt and it runs? The start switch is working checked it with a amprobe and the start capacitor has been changed.i disassembled the motor cleaned and checked the bearings? this one has me stuck?? the motor has no data plate which is illegal i thought the tank has 3 h.p. but it has a 16 gauge cord.p s when it loads down it emits a high pich sqeel? thanks in advance?

#10547 06/14/02 10:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 21
J
jo Offline
Member
maybe the start windings in the motor are shot or the belt is to tight

#10548 06/14/02 10:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 333
S
Member
Is the head unloader working?


Steve
#10549 06/15/02 03:41 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 29
R
Member
If your sure the motor is ok. It's probably water or oil in the cylinder. Can't compress fluid.

#10550 06/15/02 09:26 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
Likes: 1
Member
No offense, there resistor, but some fluids are very compressable, air for instance. It is liquids that do not compress.

But we knew what you meant...

[Linked Image]


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
#10551 06/15/02 10:05 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 29
R
Member
No offense taken WV, but air (pneumatics) is considered gas. No, fluid is not considered compressable (Hydraulics). Unless maybe NASA came out with something new.

Sorry WV, fluid-liquid, your right after all.

[This message has been edited by Resistor (edited 06-15-2002).]

#10552 06/15/02 12:35 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
N
Member
I would check the unloader valve on the compressor first. This valve vents the output from the compressor until the motor gets up to speed, reducing the starting torque required.

Other possibilities include low line voltage, or excessive voltage drop in the line cord.

#10553 06/15/02 08:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 3
M
Junior Member
thanks i have tried bigger cord ,uncouple 2 lines from compressor to tank i am not sure where the unloader is? How can sears advertise a 3 h.p motor that only pulls a few amps and has a #i6 cord.It must me the rating at the compressor end?i can rotate the compressor by hand.It is a used unit and looks to be a few years old/ thanks guys i am gonna try again .

#10554 06/15/02 10:07 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 197
G
Gwz Offline
Member
maintelec,

Get a copy of the UL White Book and under " ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT FOR USE IN ORDINARY LOCATIONS ( AALZ ) then look for the "Size and Rating" text.

Usually the first couple of numbered pages in the White Book.

It gives a hint that you can not believe all the labeling data on a nameplate.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CharlieE
CharlieE
Indianapolis
Posts: 201
Joined: April 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,396 Are you busy
228,255 Re: Forum
213,158 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5