ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 21 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 218
S
spkjpr Offline OP
Member
Once upon a time I saw a set of calipers that read out wire size. I frequently get call to remove old subpanels and need to check the size of wire an the panel that the load is being moved to. Most of these the marking on the wire is no longer legible. If anyone can help me I would appreciate it. Also this board is a great asset and very interesting.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,289
Member
The smaller sizes can be checked with a pair of strippers that have the multiple sizes. For the larger sizes, you might check the dimensions of legibly marked conductors, log them in on a piece of paper, and use them for future reference.

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,067
Likes: 3
Member
spkjpr,

I usually use strippers to determine the size like electure mentioned and carry around some small pieces of larger sizes to compare side by side. If it's important for larger sizes I think you can figure it out by knowing the size of each strand and counting them.

Bill


Bill
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,392
S
Member
I wonder if the machinist trade would have something useful for you..?

[Linked Image]

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 308
S
Member
Are you referring to those plastic cards with the appropriate notch in them for the size wire you are trying to find? If not, how about those?

I would never stick a pair of wire strippers in a live panel to do an inspection.--not suggesting anyone else was suggesting that, but I can't shut the power down to do an inspection.

How about a proposal for manufacturers to mark the wire size on the wire every 6"s instead of 24". I can't find the wire size for new wires half the time.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 10
D
Member
I think you are refering to a Burndy wire mike. Don't know if you can get them new but I found one on Ebay about a year ago.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 62
M
Member
You might try asking people at a motor repair shop. They use calipers to determine wire size of the motor windings.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 6
Z
Junior Member
SPKJPR, I BORROWED TWO OF THESE METAL WIRE GAUGES , BOUT 3" IN DIA. WHEN I WAS IN THE NAVY AS A SPARKY. FUNNY THING IS I DON'T RECALL GIVING THEM BACK. I BET THERE WAS 20 SIZES ON IT. I THINK MIKE HAS THE BEST ANSWER.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 8
J
Junior Member
Quote
Originally posted by dtl66:
I think you are refering to a Burndy wire mike. Don't know if you can get them new but I found one on Ebay about a year ago.
Burndy is now a part of [url=]Framatome[/url]. Neat tool, but I didn't see it on their site.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 8
J
Junior Member
Looks like I blew the link: http://www.fciconnect.com/ is Framatome

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 362
Joined: April 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,529 Are you busy
228,342 Re: Forum
213,218 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5