ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 5
Recent Posts
Holiday Wishes to all!!
by HotLine1. 12/15/17 07:20 PM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by HotLine1. 12/15/17 07:15 PM
2017 NEC Changes
by HotLine1. 12/15/17 07:06 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,075 Are you busy
179,517 Re: Forum
170,432 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#100991 - 01/25/07 07:15 PM Ranges  
dilydalyer  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
In the 2002 code,is T220.19 for load calculations....I have a gut telling me you can set your overcurrent prot. and wire size by this table......


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#100992 - 01/28/07 06:26 AM Re: Ranges  
jdo1942  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 31
st. louis, mo. usa
This section of the code is for multiple groups of ranges. It is the most confusing part of the code in My opinion. You must use all three columns. It is not like dryers that run a percentage on the total number. To use this table it takes a bit figuring out


#100993 - 01/28/07 10:09 AM Re: Ranges  
dilydalyer  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
When I posted this message I meant to say GUY instead GUT....sorry.I would appreciate input on this...thanks jdo.


#100994 - 01/28/07 10:34 AM Re: Ranges  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
This was posted previously last week and I responded but I'm not sure what I said was very definitive. I have since asked around and looked at the code again and here's what I belive the code says:
220.19 (2002) and 220.55 (2005) and their associated tables are for calculating the load(s) for branch circuits, feeders or services.

The other code reference 210.21(B)(4) tells us that we can size the receptacle based on 220.19 ('02) or 220.55 ('05) so if we size the receptacle using this approach we more than likely would size the rest of the circuit this way.

Also look at Note 4 for Table 220.19 ('02) or 220.55 ('05) and you get a sense of how a branch circuit for a single range is sized.

The code also says that for a 12KW range the receptacle can not be less than 40a.

8000/240=33.3 but we must use a 40a. wire and overcurrent and I think a 50a. receptacle. I don't believe they make a 40a. receptacle

I would like to hear from others as to my error or lack thereof.

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 01-28-2007).]


George Little

#100995 - 01/28/07 11:35 AM Re: Ranges  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Interesting:
12000 KW range would be calculated as following for load.

Start with 8000 and add 1600 (based on Note 1)=9600.

9600/240 = 40a.


George Little

#100996 - 01/28/07 12:12 PM Re: Ranges  
dilydalyer  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
tks...give me some more studying


#100997 - 01/28/07 06:20 PM Re: Ranges  
dilydalyer  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 59
tennessee
But don't u think I could not treat the only range in the house,let's say a 12kw,as an 8kw as far as wire and breaker size?


#100998 - 01/28/07 07:23 PM Re: Ranges  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Yes


George Little


Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 6,883
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7912 MB (Peak: 0.9513 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-16 20:42:27 UTC