ECN Forum

Minimum Bend Radius?

Posted By: Admin

Minimum Bend Radius? - 07/15/14 11:32 PM

submitted by Gregory Madjeski:

Quote
600v, 500kcmil cable termination.


[Linked Image from electrical-photos.com]

Posted By: HotLine1

Re: Minimum Bend Radius? - 07/16/14 02:44 AM

OK, lets start a comment...

Judging by the insulation, and tinned conductor, this is an 'aged' installation.

Hard to tell from the pic, but the clearance from those extra long bolts??

Is the termination (clamp) rated for what appears to be parallel secondaries? Or is this unique engineering??

Is this a POCO transformer?? If so, then throw the NEC out!
Posted By: sedesigner1

Re: Minimum Bend Radius? - 07/16/14 09:58 PM

Yes it's an older installation. The transformer is one of 3, single phase Allis-Chalmers "Curvacore" transformers and were used to step down 3 phase 4160V to 208/120V. I did a web search and couldn't find any info on them. All 3 were leaking oil and have been replaced.
Greg
Posted By: renosteinke

Re: Minimum Bend Radius? - 07/16/14 11:03 PM

Leaking oil? Did you, btw, try to soak a paper towel in the oil, then try to set it afire?

Old location .... oil that won't burn ... Hello, PCB's. Not really the sort of thing you simply toss in a dumpster or hose down the drain.
Posted By: sedesigner1

Re: Minimum Bend Radius? - 07/17/14 12:03 AM

They were tagged as PCB free, but I never touched it. There was a service tag on it at least. We were supposed to get an oil sample, but the sampling valve was so corroded we were afraid it would break. I see the same PCB free tags on oil filled utility breakers, but we're replacing those with SF6 dead tank breakers.
Posted By: HotLine1

Re: Minimum Bend Radius? - 07/17/14 12:21 AM

OK, now we know 'customer owned', PCB free, a 'mat' setup, and old.

I had a few locations in Union County, NJ that I did demo and bringing the elec into the 20th century. Two locations were PCB issues,confirmed by my samples sent to a lab. The legal disposal was $$$ but necessary and a lot cheaper then dealing with a contamination issue. One of these sites had 'leakers' but thecontamination was limited to the concrete slab and 3' of soil.

Both of the above sites were replaced with POCO 2000KVA pad mounts and respective gear.

BTW, Welcome to ECN Forums from one of the 'Jersey Guys'!!
Posted By: sedesigner1

Re: Minimum Bend Radius? - 07/17/14 07:58 PM

Our "leakers" were on concrete so no oil went into soil, but the disposal fee was high (from what I heard). We also replaced the 4160 with a new 12.47KV service & POCO 300KVA 3 phase pad mount and gear. Some of the old stuff I see is almost beyond belief that somebody wasn't killed. Also, thanks for the welcome!
Greg
Posted By: HotLine1

Re: Minimum Bend Radius? - 07/18/14 01:47 AM

You were lucky. Mine seeped thru what was an expansion joint.

I have to find time to look thru my old pics to see if I still have them.

PS:
Look here for a mat job...
https://www.electrical-contractor.n...leries/213689/Copper_Theft.html#comments
© 2020 ECN Electrical Forums