ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 414 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#89236 09/08/04 07:52 PM
G
If there is any reference that tells the installer to install grounding per Article 250 of the NEC, we are pretty much limited to at least a #14 AWG- bare or green. I have never seen an instruction that said bond/ground to the nearest cold water pipe. I've been an inspector for 25 years and a contractor for 12 years prior to that. I am still learning so please fill me in.

George Little
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

#89237 09/08/04 07:58 PM
T
the Gemini GEM_P3200 control panel/communicator instructions manual clearly spells out how they want the control panel to be grounded. min. size (for them anyway) is #16 AWG

#89238 09/08/04 09:07 PM
H
Unfortunately many of these manufacturers are not familiar with proper grounding. The nearest cold water pipe can cause more problems than good, I have seen panels destroyed because of it during lightning storms.

The ground should be run in accordance with Art 250.

-Hal

#89239 09/08/04 10:39 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered