ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 403 guests, and 33 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
#23078 03/12/03 01:30 AM
N
I have been carrying an IDEAL solenoid type tester for 13 years in my tool bag and it still works great. Unusual reliability these days.

[This message has been edited by Nick (edited 03-12-2003).]

#23079 03/12/03 11:21 AM
J
JBD Offline
"Wiggy" is a registered brand name of Square D. This solenoid style voltage tester was originally made by a company called Wiggington. Klein tools resells this Square D tester.

Solenoid type testers have much lower impedance than electronic and neon style devices. One advantage of this tester is the ability to not indicate voltages caused by leakage currents and capacitive coupling currents (these are some causes of digital meters indicating voltage even if they are just "laying on the table"). A disadvantage of these testers is, the low impedance causes high inrush and "chattering" currents which can be damaging to electronic switching devices.

#23080 03/13/03 02:22 AM
Trumpy Offline OP
Thanks, guys for all of your input.
It helped heaps!.
Paul, I was wondering if a Wiggy, was the same sort of thing as a Wedgie, but in a different dialect.
JBD, Solenoid Type Testers, prevent "Ghost-Voltages", caused by induced voltages in cables.