ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Mini Split voltage
by Garemaret - 06/21/24 04:53 AM
Strobing LEDs
by Anovalight - 06/20/24 03:16 AM
Stuff that happens after we leave
by HotLine1 - 06/17/24 03:53 PM
photocell requirement for metal halide ballasts
by gfretwell - 06/17/24 01:44 PM
Commercial lift stations
by triple - 06/09/24 05:23 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 56 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
In 210.8(A)2 it talks about accessory buildings at "grade level" need GFCI protection. Does this mean at "dirt" level? Does it mean if it is on a slab? How about if it is on concrete blocks and a foot above ground? The way it talks is that if it is above the dirt, no matter how much, it don't have to have GFCI protection. I think that might could be a good thing to clarify in the next code myself.
thanks, Steve..

Last edited by sparkync; 10/29/12 07:40 PM.
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,942
Likes: 34
G
Member
I think if the building is up on a stem wall or on blocks with a crawl, it is not at grade. A slab is grade.

I imagine they are thinking an elevated building would have a wood floor.

Around here you see buildings on a stem wall where they fill the box with dirt and pour a slab. I think I would try to say that was grade level, looking at the intent but I doubt I could survive a challenge.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
Member
Greg, how about a slab with plywood nailed to it? That's what one of the buildings I'm about to wire has. The slab is about 6" or 8" thick. I'll probably just go ahead with a GFI but it's interesting to know. Thanks.

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,942
Likes: 34
G
Member
I would want to err on the safe side.


Greg Fretwell

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5