ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 414 guests, and 29 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#142881 05/27/05 10:55 PM
Trumpy Offline OP
Just a little note about PVC conduit.
Back when I first started my time as an Electrical apprentice, I thought all this conduit work stuff was really easy, with respect to bending it and so forth.
I'd really only worked with 20, 25 and 32mm stuff at the time, which of course you can bend reasonably easily with an internal bending spring over your knee.
Having some 40 and 50mm conduit turn up on a job we were doing, changed that idea.
For the first few off-sets that needed to be done on the runs of conduit, I was taught to heat the conduit up (carefully!) with a heat gun and then coax it into shape.
At least that was the theory anyway, I wrecked a few bends in the process when I'd bend the conduit either the wrong way or it was bent too far and couldn't be bent back without it "rippling". GRRR
Mind you, it seems to me that a lot of Electricians here these days just use a conduit socket and change to flexible for the off-set and then back to rigid again using another socket.
Having got used to bending the larger sizes of PVC conduit now, I prefer to bend it over any other method, it looks neater too.
Good lord Alan,
That sounds like an interesting (yet dangerous) concoction, it's sort of hard to imagine how a drink like that would taste.