ECN Forum
Posted By: Trumpy Use the Right Tools!. - 09/12/03 08:24 PM
Just a small question here.
How many times have you seen a worker using tools for a job that they were never designed for?.
A common on over here, is Electricians using a pair of pliers as a spanner, to loosen and tighten nuts and the pliers have the name as an Electrician's spanner over here.
Can you guys name any like-wise situations?. [Linked Image]
Posted By: Ryan_J Re: Use the Right Tools!. - 09/12/03 08:48 PM
When I was an electrician I never carried a hammer. I got better at swinging my linesman's than the carpenter's did with their hammers! [Linked Image]
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Use the Right Tools!. - 09/12/03 08:55 PM
Ryan,
Yeah, I've seen that happen before!.
A new apprentice learnt the rule of "never lend out your tools", when he saw our Boss using HIS brand new Klien pliers to drive in a 4" nail, which I might add, he wasn't doing that very well either!. [Linked Image]
Posted By: pauluk Re: Use the Right Tools!. - 09/12/03 09:39 PM
With a certain general contractor I used to work with, I saw it all the time!

He'd drill with wood bits into masonry, and vice versa, gouge out concrete with wood chisels, and use a hammer for just about everything else! [Linked Image]

I tended to guard my tools rather carefully on his jobs, especially after finding him using one of my large fully insulated Philips screwdrivers as a makeshift hole-borer. [Linked Image]
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Use the Right Tools!. - 09/12/03 09:56 PM
Paul,
That's one of my pet hates, seeing a guy using a screwdriver as a drill or a chisel!.
I was at a house fire a couple of years ago to pull the mains fuse and happened to turn around and here was one of the firemen using my hotstickto bash holes in the soffit of the house!.
I went and asked him what in Gods name he was doing with my stick and he said "Gotta let the smoke out some how!".
This wound me up even more!. [Linked Image]