ECN Forum
Posted By: Electricmanscott Money Talk! - 01/12/02 04:51 PM
I just found this board and have been reading so much my eyeballs are numb. What I would like to see is some info on what electricians are charging for their work. I will break the ice. I am a one man show in central and eastern MA. I do mid to high end remodel jobs. I charge $55.00 per hour and markup materials 30%. I would be interested to see what others are charging and I think it would benefit us all to know what the market can sustain.
Posted By: Electricmanscott Re: Money Talk! - 01/12/02 10:39 PM
I just read some more posts including the ones about what people charge. Any more info posted here may also be helpful.
Posted By: dana1028 Re: Money Talk! - 01/13/02 12:34 AM
$$

I play 2 roles - I am an electrical contractor (my side job - 20+ hrs. a week); my 'day' job is running a large mfg. facilities and being an ICBO bldg/elect. inspector.

As a contractor I charge around $75/hr....but I charge a minimum of $200 per outlet; however I'm supposedly paying my electricians $130/hr. (contractor + 1 apprentice ....they always work together...no one-man jobs). If I want a single ballast replaced it runs about $180...but that's actually on the low side because looking at several invoices my charges run around $800 (4 hrs.) - $1200 (6 hrs.).
Posted By: pauluk Re: Money Talk! - 01/13/02 12:36 AM
Well, I'm not in America & our economics are somewhat different here, but I wish I could get $55 an hour.

Most of my jobs I price at about £50 for a full day's work (that's about $75) or pro rata, plus a little for gas money if it's more than 20 miles or so away. I usually add about 10% to materials to allow for odds and ends like PVC tape, sleeving, screws etc.
Posted By: sparky66wv Re: Money Talk! - 01/13/02 03:35 AM
I'm going to cry now...

[Linked Image]

Oh... I'm "up to" $25.00 per hour, slowly sneaking my way up to $33 if the local market will bear it...