ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by tortuga - 03/18/24 08:39 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by tortuga - 03/18/24 04:29 PM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
Test Post
by sabrown - 03/06/24 05:29 PM
Solar PV Wiring Errors
by renosteinke - 03/02/24 09:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 94 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#182637 12/05/08 10:51 AM
JoeKP Offline OP
hey everyone, just to let you know, i am a really good It Tech, and if you have any questions or need help with computers, just feel free to ask me smile I'd be glad to help.

-Joe
“then we'll glue em' then screw em'”
-Tom Silva
TOH
P
pdh Offline
You wanna do the Windows cases and let me handle the Linux cases?

JoeKP Offline OP
sure smile im not the best with linux anyway

-Joe
-Tom Silva
TOH
G
OK I will bite

What is the trick to get XP machines to talk to w/98 machines on a network

Greg Fretwell
JoeKP Offline OP
you have to make sure that they are on the same workgroup (ex. MSHOME)then make sure that the IP is set to config automatically
then restart, then look in the my network places

-Joe
-Tom Silva
TOH
G
I haven't loaded the XP machine yet but the last time I tried it they couldn't see each other and I downloaded some stuff from Microsoft for the W/98 machines. It still didn't work and I gave up. Now my wife wants the XP on her machine but I fear she will be lost to the rest of my W/98 network.

Greg Fretwell