ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (ale348), 302 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#171900 12/08/07 11:07 AM
M
Matt_G Offline OP
I'm new to contracting. As has been said before we spend years working in the field but then we get out into the business world of contracting it's usually the school of hard knocks.
I recently had a customer I started doing work for without any signed contracts done first. When I snapped to what we should have done they suddenly didn't want to work with me. Telling me to get to work that he would have a check for the work we had already done, ect... Bottom line is when I demanded a contract before any more work would happen he balked, paid me for what had been done so far, and we parted ways. I hate leaving a job like that but I couldn't go anyfurther without getting the legalities taken care of.
Do you guys ALWAYS get the contract signed before even service work begins? Also, do you think this customer can retaliate in someway?

Thanks guys.

Latest Estimating Cost Guides & Software:
Matt_G #171901 12/08/07 11:12 AM
M
Matt_G Offline OP
Also, when you enter into a contract with someone, have you ever had to sign THEIR contract? This was something else that came up that sounded really fishy to me.
Thanks

Matt_G #171904 12/08/07 01:39 PM
T
Welcome Matt.