ECN Forum
Posted By: UKSparks Connecting 110V oven to UK power supply - 08/26/10 12:38 PM
Hi all, my first post, so I hope it is in the right place!

I am a UK-based electrician with the following problem:
one of my customers has imported a double Maytag oven from the USA to use here in the UK.

He has asked me to connect it up, and not being familiar with the US wiring system, I am confused by the fact that I have 4 wires; red, black, white, and bare copper.

The bare copper is obviously the earth wire as I can see where it is secured to the casing, but other than that I am lost. The only wiring diagram supplied shows how to connect to a 3 wire or 4 wire system, but these are obviously US based.

I have contacted the manufacturer in the US, who refuse to help because the item has been exported, and their counterpart in the UK has taken the same attitude because it is an import, so no joy there.

I can only guess that I am also going to have to supply and wire in a 100V transformer (around 8kW probably, as oven is 7.2kW), but other than that any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for any pointers.

Posted By: ghost307 Re: Connecting 110V oven to UK power supply - 08/26/10 02:27 PM
The US system used in houses has 3 wires with 180 electrical degrees between them. Black and red are hot, and the white is a neutral conductor that gets connected to earth ONLY where the mains first come into the house.
Voltage from red to white is 120V, voltage from black to white is 120V and voltage from black to red is 240V.
From what little I know about the UK power system, you might not be able to do a direct connection. A transformer would need to provide that exact configuration in order to work properly. In addition, although the difference between the 50Hz in the UK and the 60Hz in the US shouldn't worry the heating elements, it might drive the fan, clock, and electronics completely batty.