ECN Forum
Posted By: Trumpy Inspector here - 10/13/06 08:12 AM
Sorry,
I forgot to mention that before I took on the job as a Fire Safety Officer, I passed my Electrical Inspectors Exams here.
Isn't life so fast-paced these days?.
Since then I have inspected 2 houses re-wired by Electricians and both passed.
There used to be a thing here that you had to have 10 years and Advanced Trade behind you.
I had the Advanced Trade, just before they changed the wording, which is called Level 5 (Electrical Advanced) these days.
My one idea about exams here in NZ these days, is that they need a huge boot up the backside.
If you cannot score at least 80% in a exam, you are not fit for this trade.
People's lives are in your hands.
Would you like a 60% Electrician?
Posted By: RODALCO Re: Inspector here - 10/14/06 06:44 AM
Congratulations Mike.

I entirely agrre that the pass mark for electricians should be at least 80%.
In this day and age with all the PC nonsense, the pass rates are set too low.
Lifes are dependant upon good workmanship which includes testing all the aspects of the completed job as per the electrical regulations.
Unfortunately if that level was set the ones who fail probably still keep doing backdoor jobs and may get away with it, How on earth do you know if a COC was taken out for the job anyway.
The good electricians doing it by the book while other ones may create potential hazards which may never been picked up untill too late and someone is electrocuted.
Posted By: Eddy Current Re: Inspector here - 10/14/06 10:50 AM
Need a 70% to pass in Canada. Better, but not enough. Alot of guys are failing too. Our test is too general, many questions are concidered "general Knowledge" where there is no code to get the answer, your just suposed to know it.
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Inspector here - 10/15/06 09:22 AM
However,
LK (Les) said in the Chat rooms.
When it was found that apprentices were failing the exams, they made them easier.
What does that say to the customer?.