ECN Forum
Posted By: Admin Colorado Condos - Part 2 - 06/24/04 03:58 AM
I am a Licensed Journeyman Electrician living in Colorado. I live in a condo and our association hosted a walk through last week to discuss items needing repair. I pointed out the following and our manager dismissed them either as not being a priority or too expensive to repair.

This picture again represents poor protection from physical damage, it a junction box with a schedule 40 PVC pipe in front of a parking stall.
[Linked Image]
This photo illustrates an electrical conduit 12" above a walk way, not only a physical damage concern, but a tripping hazard. It looks like they paint it every once in a while...I must not be the first person to comment.
[Linked Image]
These 2 pictures show another poorly installed and maintained junction box. Not only is the conduit broken, but duct tape is now being used either to hold the box in place, or in lieu of the bent cover.
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
The next two photos illustrate more physical damage to improperly installed junction boxes that feed light poles.
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Posted By: Admin Re: Colorado Condos - Part 2 - 06/24/04 04:11 AM
This picture shows wiring from a disconnect to an AC Condenser still in use.
[Linked Image]
This is the service equipment beside our clubhouse. Notice the coupling technique used.
[Linked Image]
This looks like a poor method of penetrating an exterior wall.
[Linked Image]
This picture shows EMT run underground at a shallow burial depth.
[Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by Webmaster (edited 06-24-2004).]
Posted By: DougW Re: Colorado Condos - Part 2 - 06/24/04 04:35 AM