ECN Forum
Posted By: Admin Classroom Violation - 04/25/07 03:35 AM
Hi, I'm a student about to graduate with my associates in Electrical Tech.
Every friday our class spends an hour looking at the pictures posted in this forum, they teach us alot about what not to do!!
anyway thanks for all the informative pictues

I am including a picture I took of a receptacle that is in our Code classroom, the same room we look at the pictures in! lol
as you can see there is no cover plate and the entire top half of the receptacle is busted off.

- Justin M.

[Linked Image]
Posted By: noderaser Re: Classroom Violation - 04/25/07 04:07 AM
But it still holds a plug!
Posted By: KJ Re: Classroom Violation - 04/25/07 05:51 AM
lets see....

mechanics car stalls....
plumbers faucet drips....
painters house is peeling....
Posted By: Retired_Helper Re: Classroom Violation - 04/25/07 06:25 PM
OK, open mouth, insert foot. I'm going to guess that that cover was compression molded, probably of phenolic. The compression stuff is more brittle than the injection molded, and maybe the cure portion of the mold cycle or temp or both were a little off. So along comes Mr. Maintenance with a vacuum or a polisher, and when he's well away from the receptacle, he yanks out the cord. Do that with the lower outlet, and you tend to break the bottom of the ground pin hole out (like here). Do it on the top outlet, and, CRACK! Off comes half the cover. shocked

Isn't it embarassing for the school to have something like this in a CODE classroom? frown

I hate to think how often I have seen receptacles like this. Wouldn't you think the liability alone would move property owners to have something like this fixed? mad

Just by the by, I find it interesting that this unit uses the T-slot contact terminal assembly on the hot side as well. I suspect you could slam a 240v plug through that plastic if you tried. Not that anyone does things like that... grin
Posted By: n1ist Re: Classroom Violation - 04/25/07 11:17 PM