ECN Forum
Posted By: Joe Tedesco Rope A Dope found by young engineer! - 04/10/04 09:05 PM
ROPE-A-DOPE Story!

[Linked Image]

Mr. Tedesco,

While on a site observation in Grand Island, NY, I noticed this transformer (See attached photos). The space was vacated in April of 2003, and I was there to verify existing conditions of the electrical and mechanical systems for a future tenant.

Needless to say, a few things will have to be fixed.

I am an Electrical Engineering grad from the University of North Dakota with two years in the design/consulting field.

I was a three year electrical apprentice before and during my high school and college days. I am now an EIT, for Dunham Associates in Bloomington, MN.

I have sent these pictures around to other engineers (not only electrical, but structural and mechanical also).

Its unbelievable that a contractor would actually do this.

I thought you might enjoy (or cringe) at these pictures.

Scott Rieger, EIT
Posted By: Lostazhell Re: Rope A Dope found by young engineer! - 04/10/04 11:24 PM
[Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image]
I am, for once, truly speechless!!! =X
Posted By: SvenNYC Re: Rope A Dope found by young engineer! - 04/11/04 10:25 PM
One coyote comin' up... [Linked Image]

I'm surprised the pipe didn't buckle under the strain and even more surprised that the sharp edges of the transformer cabinet didn't fray and weaken the rope.

Wonder if the conduit coming out the bottom of the box is attached to the xformer.... [Linked Image]
Posted By: Ever Ready Re: Rope A Dope found by young engineer! - 04/12/04 05:48 AM
Never ceases to amaze me how rough some people will be.
Posted By: Lostazhell Re: Rope A Dope found by young engineer! - 04/12/04 07:04 AM
The sight of that xfmr even made me miss the flourescent light going through the wall up there also!

Randy
Posted By: Ryan_J Re: Rope A Dope found by young engineer! - 04/12/04 02:41 PM