ECN Forum
Posted By: Joe Tedesco Very Old Wiring System - 03/04/02 01:42 AM
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
Posted By: CTwireman Re: Very Old Wiring System - 03/04/02 09:02 PM
That looks like a Sawzall and Sledgehammer Special! [Linked Image]
Posted By: wirewiz Re: Very Old Wiring System - 03/05/02 12:58 AM
It's obvious that these installations no longer comply with todays code. Is their anyone who could tell us if this was at some place in time an acceptable installation? I am curious! I have run across a number of situations probably 50 to 75 years old like this.
Posted By: seymo1 Re: Very Old Wiring System - 03/14/02 07:11 AM
jest lookin' at that frightens the heck out of me.
Posted By: Trainwire Re: Very Old Wiring System - 03/15/02 11:42 AM
I make my living restoring old railroad equipment. I have seen this type of work quite alot. In its day it was the only way you had to join heavy wire.
The guy, and its a safe bet from the apparent age of the job, that it was a guy, was probably proud of the job he did when he was done.
Think about the time it took to set up the little forge, dress, heat and tin his solid copper soldering irons, hold the connection while he wound the wire around it, flux it, solder it, and wind the friction tape around it. Can you think of trying to present that bill to the customer today? Arent't insulated set screw connectors wonderful?

Thanks for letting me join in.
Posted By: harold endean Re: Very Old Wiring System - 03/17/02 02:41 AM
Joe,

Back then, the contractors use to solder all of their connections and use rubber and friction tape. It lasted how many years with out trouble? (grin) That type of wiring method is very familer to anyone who works in old buildings, with knob and tube wiring etc. I am sure that you have seen lots of that type of wiring right? (LOL)

Harold aka Caper
Posted By: Joe Tedesco Re: Very Old Wiring System - 03/17/02 03:28 AM
Harold: