ECN Forum
Posted By: jay8 mig welder - 06/16/11 01:05 AM
I have been given a mig welder to supply power for. Rated input is 230volt 20 amp single phase, but plug supplied is 50 amp 250 volt - I guess that although oversized this is just the standard welding plug, but does one wire the receptacle for the demand of the welder or the 50 amp plug supplied?
Posted By: wire_twister Re: mig welder - 06/16/11 02:39 AM
I would wire for the demand of the welder. I have frequently run into the same thing with welders, seems there is no standard type of plug used on welders.
Posted By: twh Re: mig welder - 06/16/11 02:41 AM
Demand of the welder. It's like a range that has a 50 amp receptacle but is wired for 40 amps.

Is there a demand calculation for a welder circuit, or is it just the 80% rule?
Posted By: LarryC Re: mig welder - 06/16/11 04:32 AM
As a non Electrician, I would ask the customer if they plan to upgrade to a larger power supply in the NEAR future. If so, I would use a larger conduit to allow for an easier upgrade for the next electrician, which may be you.
Posted By: Trumpy Re: mig welder - 06/16/11 08:32 AM
Originally Posted by jay8
I have been given a mig welder to supply power for. Rated input is 230volt 20 amp single phase, but plug supplied is 50 amp 250 volt - I guess that although oversized this is just the standard welding plug, but does one wire the receptacle for the demand of the welder or the 50 amp plug supplied?

Jay,
Welders are pretty hard on a power supply.
Is this in a residential or commercial workshop?
One thing I would note for a start is the nameplate on the welder itself, especially the Duty Cycle.
Welders with high Duty Cycles (of 60-70%) require heavier supply wiring, this is due to the weldor being able to use the welder for longer periods at a time and therefore increasing the amount of heating in the supply cabling.