ECN Forum
Posted By: HayesElect New construction - 03/16/10 01:22 AM
Hello everyone. I am a licensed electrical contractor and have just started my business about 2 years ago. I am currently bidding on a 2000 square foot spec house. The house has 3 bedrooms and 2.5 baths. The only extras are thee recessed lights and a ceiling fan in the master bedroom. I came up with $7700 without the service. How does that compare to how you all calculate your jobs
Posted By: Rewire Re: New construction - 03/16/10 02:03 AM
A similar 3 bedroom 2.5 bath spec would bid at 4500.00 around here but with the down economy some are bidding even lower.Hard times drive down the price.
Posted By: HayesElect Re: New construction - 03/16/10 05:50 AM
Do you get that number doing a square footage price or per opening?
Posted By: Rewire Re: New construction - 03/16/10 10:57 PM
history of past projects,man hours and material
Posted By: HotLine1 Re: New construction - 03/17/10 12:00 AM
Hayes:

Welcome to ECN!

Remember...labor factor for your location!

Members here are in a lot of locations on this planet, and all over the USA!

Posted By: frenchelectrican Re: New construction - 03/17/10 05:44 AM
Hayes .,please do welcome to the fourms in here.

For the simauir size house in France it typical run about €5,200 but it will varies depending on the construction and the materals it will be used and the customer request if they want add something to the list.

Merci,Marc
Posted By: Rewire Re: New construction - 03/17/10 02:17 PM
In our area we have no license requirement and limited inspections so anyone who can afford the price of hand tools can wire a house which depresses the price.
Posted By: Tesla Re: New construction - 03/18/10 05:32 AM
Out my way prices are depressed by Residential Electricians crossing over into low-end Commercial Bidding.

After their first significant jobs they're broke.

The reverse is true: Commercial Electricians loose their shirts jumping into Residential Bidding.