ECN Forum
Posted By: Russell BRITISH ELECTRICIAN SEEKS U.S EMPLOYER - 05/19/08 08:34 AM
Hi people,
I thought this forum looked like a good place to start as to how i would find a possible H1-VISA sponsor to relocate to the United States ? ? ?

I am a fully qualified electrician, and any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

many thanks.

Russ.
Posted By: copper Re: BRITISH ELECTRICIAN SEEKS U.S EMPLOYER - 05/19/08 09:49 AM
No Clue.

www.mcdean.com they are a big big company out of well everywhere. Most likely you could work in the DC area. not sure how else to help you. best of luck.

You could dip down to Mexico and take the scenic route smile Can you swim?

Ken
I know, the lines are long, and the staff more than a bit obnoxious ... but the US Embassy is THE place to get the necessary information.

As for finding a sponsor ... if you belong to a trade organisation (union), check with them. They most likely have some sort of arrangement with their US counterpart.

Otherwise, I'd suggest a less direct route. Canada is a lot more receptive to Brits (when it comes to work), and would be a good place to get acquainted with our unique methods.
Originally Posted by Russell
Hi people,
I thought this forum looked like a good place to start as to how i would find a possible H1-VISA sponsor to relocate to the United States ? ? ?

I am a fully qualified electrician, and any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

First, the US is a BIG place. If you have preferences for one area over another (for whatever reason) you need to focus your search for a sponsor there. Wage rates and work conditions vary greatly. Asking here, and other forums as well wouldn't hurt, but choosing a town (or three) is important.