ECN Forum
Posted By: frankft Permits and Inspections - 12/05/04 05:54 PM
Here's my question, say you are putting in a microwave recepticle and your area requires a permit. In you area do you have to have that 1 recepticle inspected when you are done? I'm from Maine where only a handfull of towns even have elctrical inspectors. Where there are no town inspector, the master electrician signs off on their own job. Not many failed inspections around here.
Posted By: Roger Re: Permits and Inspections - 12/05/04 08:34 PM
Frank, in my area you would need a permit and an inspection.

In reality I see this as a bad thing in that as a licensed contractor, I need to abide by the rules or put myself in jepardy and so permiting the work will cost the customer more.

This means the customer will me more inclined to do the work as a DIYer or have some unlicensed jack leg do it to save the cost of a permit.

As a licensed contractor, (this is a state license in my state) the contractor should be able to do projects to a limit with his own certification, this would probably mean more work installed by competent persons.

Roger
Posted By: Active 1 Re: Permits and Inspections - 12/05/04 09:09 PM
The problem with the inspection process here is it's not geared for little jobs. I would guess that around here there are not too many permits taken out for little things. I know I have lost some work by insisting on a permit.

If I did not do another permit job in the village/town the same year I might have too:
1. Find out there requirements
2. Go to insurance agent and get a bond for $50-125
3. Register in the town, right or wrong may have to pay $$
4. Get the permit $25-$50
5. Do work
6. Tell customer someone needs to be home for 1/2 the next day for the inspector
7. Call to check results and tell customer

You with extra phone calls, paper work, and driving you add 1-2 more hours to the job. I would think it should cost the customer $200 more with permits and run around.